Sunday , June 24, 2018

Valencia fighters rule Tablon slugfest

VALENCIA City pride Crison "Cowboy" Omayao outclassed Richard Rosales of Bohol via majority decision to win the Mindanao Professional Boxing Championship light flyweight title in the main event of the Bakbakan sa Tablon IV Tuesday night, January 10, in Tablon village gym, Cagayan de Oro City.

The 24-year-old Omayao got the nods of the two judges scoring 97-93 and 100-90, respectively, in favor of Umayao. While the other scored it 95-all.

Omayao opened the fight with a very solid body punch that bounced the 23-year-old Rosales from the ropes.

It was Omayao, a former RP champion, who was aggressive connecting more clear shots.

Rosales allowed Omayao to corner him on the ropes, though it was the Boholano’s strategy to make counterpunches that triggered an exciting blow-by-blow and a slight edge for the former in the sixth and seventh rounds.

"Kulang ko sa depensa adto," Omayao admitted.

However, Omayao made adjustments on time to regain lost ground and dominate the remaining rounds.

“Kulang ko sa depensa adto mao nga nag-adjust ko,” later shared Omayao.

The new MPBC light flyweight champion now has a professional boxing record of 21-12-7 win-loss-draw, while Rosales has 11-4-2.

To his consolation, Rosales drew applause by virtue of his crowd-pleasing showboating.

Another Valencia City bet, Ramboo Lagos captured the MPBC bantamweight plum after silencing Robert Awiten of Bohol in the third round via technical knockout.

Lagos delivered the stoppage in 1:39 mark of the third round.

The other Valencia City boxer took a different route.

Charlie Cabillas yielded the MPBC flyweight crown to Kim `The Bull’ Lindog of Zamboanga City via TKO.

Cabillas started strong in the first two rounds, unleashing a series of crisp punches but apparently lost steam in the following round.

Lindog turned the tide in third round, finishing Cabillas with a wicked left hook to the left side of his head.

Bakbakan sa Tablon IV was sponsored by the Council of Tablon village led by its chairman Romeo Bacarro.