Monday , May 28, 2018

Ubay-ubay, Cortes lead Surigao City leg winners

AFTER her double-whammy feat in Butuan City, Misamis Oriental pride Merkisslyn Ubay-ubay slowed down a bit but still managed to share the spotlight in the Surigao City leg of the 2017 Cebuana Lhuillier Age Group tennis championships.

The fast-learning Ubay-ubay from Alubijid, Misamis Oriental crushed Regine Entoc of Claver, Surigao del Norte, 6-0, 6-1 to bring home the 16-under girls crown of the Group 2 event slated May 5-9 at the DPWH Tennis Club in Surigao City.

Lanao Norte ace Brent Signmond Cortes also bucked a long travel to the City of Island Adventures to notch the 14-under boys title at the expense of Jan Ceasar Paqueo of Claver, Surigao del Norte whom he trounced in two-straight sets, 6-3, 7-6.

Vis-Min area organizer Mario Inguito Craiz said the Surigao City leg drew a total entries of 104, with a big bulk from Claver, Surigao del Norte providing a good fight in almost all age categories.

Here’s the complete results:

Singles event

10 Unisex
Champion: Stefi Marithe Aludo (Trento, Agusan del Sur) 41 41
Runner-up: Chaim Larase (Claver, Surigao del Norte)

12 Boys
Champion: John Christopher Sonsona (Tubod, Lanao del Norte)64 63
Runner-up: Vince Louise Serna (Butuan City)

12 Girls
Champion: Roneline Madalo (Claver, Surigao del Norte) 64 63
Runner-up: Bianca Tracy Patenio (Placer, Surigao del Norte)

14 Boys
Champion: Brent Signmond Cortes (Tubod, Lanao del Norte) 63-76
Runner-up: Jan Ceasar Paqueo (Claver, Surigao del Norte)

14 Girls
Champions: Ma. Nichole Bonilla (Surigao City) 62-63
Runner-up: Angel Marie Geraldino (Surigao City)

16 Boys
Champion: Vaughn Spencer Codilla (Surigao City) 61-75
Runner-up: Emmanuel Pedrosa (San Francisco, Agusan del Norte)

16 Girls
Champion: Merkisslyn Ubay-ubay (Alubijid, Misamis Oriental)60 61
Runner-up: Regine Entoc (Claver, Surigao del Norte)

18 Boys
Champion: Marc Nicole Suson (Cebu City) 62-61
Runner-up: Pprince Bo Lastimosa ( San Francisco, Agusan del Norte)

18 Girls
Champion: Angelly Esguerra (Butuan City) 61-62
Runner-up: Allyssa Joanna Peligro (Surigao City)

Doubles Event

10 Unisex
Champion: Beejay Macalos/ Chaim Larase 53-53
Runner-up: Stefi Marithe Aludo/ Dirk Andrei Quezada

14 Boys
Champion: Brent Signmond Cortes/ Aaron Jacque Geromo 85
Runner-up: Ivan Macalos/ Renzo Macalos

18 Boys
Champion: Prince Bo Lastimosa/ Emmanuel Pedrosa 84
Runner-up: Junmark Cahatian/ John Carlo Mar