Friday , May 25, 2018

Duterte orders shake-up of Cabinet clusters

PRESIDENT Rodrigo Duterte has signed an executive order (EO) declaring a reformation on the system of Cabinet clusters.

Under EO 24 dated May 16, the President reorganized the Cabinet clusters into participatory governance; infrastructure; human development and poverty reduction; security, justice and peace; climate change adaptation and mitigation and disaster risk reduction; and economic development.

The participatory governance cluster, which will be led by a Local Government Secretary, is tasked to exert all efforts to enhance citizen participation in governmental processes.

Members of participatory governance cluster are the secretaries of Executive, Cabinet, Communication, Budget, Justice, Finance, and Trade departments; heads of National Economic and Development Authority, Presidential Management Staff, and Commission on Higher Education; Presidential Adviser on Legislative Affairs; and National Anti-Poverty Commission lead convenor.

On the infrastructure cluster, the Public Works Secretary is designated as chair and tasked to focus on infrastructure development for the realization of the 10-point socio-economic agenda.

Its members include secretaries of Executive, Cabinet, Local Government, Budget, Transportation, Finance, Communications Technology, Trade, Agriculture, Health, Social Welfare, Education, and Tourism departments; and heads of National Economic Development Authority, and Presidential Management Staff.

The Social Welfare Secretary is assigned to lead the cluster on human development and poverty reduction tasked to improve the quality of life of the Filipino people through a broad-based approach in the delivery of services.

The head of Social Welfare agency will be assisted by Cabinet, Executive, Agriculture, Environment, Education, Health, Labor, Budget, Trade, and Local Government secretaries; heads of National Economic Development Secretary, Presidential Management Staff, Commission on Higher Education, and Housing and Urban Development Coordinating Council; Technical Education and Skills Development Authority; and National Anti-Poverty Commission lead convenor.

As for climate change adaptation, mitigation and disaster risk reduction cluster, Duterte assigned the Environment Secretary to supervise and focus on the conservation and protection of the environment and natural resources.

The cluster would also serve as a venue for discussing inter-related concerns on climate change and disaster risk management.

Members are Executive, Cabinet, Budget, Foreign Affairs, Science and Technology, Local Government, Public Works, Social Welfare, Agriculture, Agrarian, Energy, and Defense secretaries; and heads of National Economic Development Secretary, Presidential Management Staff, Metro Manila Development Authority, and and Housing and Urban Development Coordinating Council.

The security, justice, and peace, cluster will still be chaired by Defense Secretary, as provided by EO 7, to ensure the preservation of national sovereignty and the rule of law. The Defense chief will be assisted by Executive, Cabinet, Local Government, and Foreign Affairs secretaries; National Security Adviser; and Presidential Adviser on Peace Process.

The EO tasked each Cabinet cluster to formulate a performance and projects roadmap that will identify critical targets, including identified annual deliverables. The cluster roadmaps will be aligned with the Philippine Development Plan. (SunStar Philippines)