Wednesday , June 20, 2018

GMA wins 7 VACC awards

GMA Network is the top choice of the Volunteers Against Crime and Corruption (VACC) both for television and radio as it bagged seven of the nine major awards in both categories, winning this year’s Outstanding TV Station award for GMA 7 and Outstanding Radio Station award for DZBB.

Kapuso Network’s flagship primetime newscast “24 Oras” once again took home the Outstanding TV News Program award. Its anchors Mel Tiangco, Mike Enriquez and Vicky Morales were honored as Outstanding TV News Anchors anew. With this award, Enriquez was already elevated to VACC’s Hall of Fame.

Senior reporter Susan Enriquez, meanwhile, was chosen as Television Reporter of the Year.

Leading local news channel GMA News TV also emerged as a big winner this year: the segment from “Dobol B sa News TV” called Dobol A sa Dobol B was awarded Best Teleradio Program, while its anchors Arnold Clavio and Ali Sotto won Best Teleradio Anchors.

On top of the major awards, VACC also conferred special citations to various GMA programs and personalities: “Reporter’s Notebook" (Television Program category), Jiggy Manicad (TV Program anchors category) and Marisol Abdurahman (TV reporters category).

GMA News TV also received special awards for “State of the Nation with Jessica Soho” (TV News Program) and Soho (TV News Program Anchor).

In addition to winning the Outstanding Radio Station award, DZBB was also given special awards for “Bangon na Bayan” (Radio Program category) and Joel Reyes Zobel (Radio Anchor category).

GMA-7 also took home the Outstanding TV Station award last year. (PR)