Thursday , April 26, 2018

Gjaps tops Scottie league

THE Gjaps Pirates survived past Tan Crusaders, 83-81, via overtime to clinch the 1st Scottie Thompson Cup Basketball title on Sunday evening at the Elenita Heights Basketball Court in Catalunan Grande, Davao City.

Edsel Enal, who romped away with the most valuable player (MVP) award, paced the Pirates with 22 points as teammates Francis Garcia, Raym Dasas and Aljie Quintanilla made similar 10 baskets.

Though key player Japs Sabio was limited to four markers, Jay Abayon and Ryan Vertudazo were reliable in defense and they also combined for 14.

Tan Crusaders, however, leaned on the efforts of Miggie Dela Cruz and Christian Delgado, who canned 23 and 20, respectively. Junjun Tan also chipped in 12 for the Crusaders.

Barely one minute left in the final period, the Pirates called for time after the

Crusaders were ahead by five points.

Enal then converted a three-point play followed by a Dasas two-pointer to force a 71-all deadlock and send the game into a five-minute extension.

Both teams figured in a see-saw affair in the last 20 seconds, all eager to go home with the crown.

But the veteran-laden Pirates executed solid defense to force a turnover before Garcia sealed the match with a lay-up.

"Sa quarterfinals pa lang, we thought na hindi na kami makakapasok sa semifinals kasi yung mga opponent's namin may two varsity players and youth pa so maliit talaga chances namin," Sabio said.

Sabio then thanked Ginebra star Scottie Thompson, Commissioner Rolando Budoy Casila, Basketball Referee Association of Davao, Jeffrey Senon of Natasha, Rudy Coquilla of MCCC Transport, Nonoy Tan of Tan Crusaders, Jepoy Cuerpo of BC Cuerpo Construction, Melvin Lanoy of Minnie Mickey Mouse Taxi, John Curada of Heartworks, Spike Diao of Mt. Mixed and B-Meg for the support.

Special awards were also given to Jeremias Guilla (most improved player), Prince Rosario (rookie of the conference) and Luis Coquilla (sportsmanship award).

Mythical five members were Johann Fernandez, Melvin Lanoy, Christian Delgado, Kyle Ferrer and Dela Cruz.