Sunday , June 24, 2018

Pink Paddlers get 2 golds, 2 silver medals

THE Cebuano paddlers snagged two gold medals and two silver medals in the 2017 Taiwan Keelung International Dragon Boat Festival, which wrapped up yesterday at the Keelung Harbor in Keelung City, Taiwan.

The Cebu Pink Paddlers Dragonboat Team collected another gold medal yesterday in the 200-meter Breast Cancer Survivor (BCS) category following its first gold medal victory in the 500m race last Monday.

The Cebu Pink Paddlers clocked 1 minute and 57.29 seconds to win the 200m race at the expense of Long Beach Pink Dragons and Dragon Abreast Hongkong, who had times of 2:03.750 and 2:06.710.

Last Monday, the Cebu Pink Paddlers won the BCS 500m race in 5:09.140. Long Beach Pink Dragons finished in 5:26.740 for second place and Dragon Abreast Hongkong came third in 5:41.800.

The Cebu Pink Paddlers, which comprises breast cancer survivors from Cebu, finished its stint in Taiwan with two gold medals.

The team is composed of Janice Kintanar, Levi Abelides, Anne Georgia Solante, Mirasol Vinas, Mary Ann Bojos, Eleanor Mercado, Aida Delos Reyes, Marichu Dumaran, Ma. Liberty Ronoa, Rosalie Cobre, Sara Jane Villegas, Judith Beltran, Eden Paluca and Nonie Percy.

The other Cebuano team who shone in the event was the Sugbu Mighty Dragons, which salvaged two silver medals-one each at the women’s 500m and 200m straight race category.

The Mighty Dragons finished second in the 200m race with a time of 1:49.190 behind the eventual winner Philippine Navy Dragonboat Team, which clocked 1:46.180 yesterday.

The Mighty Dragons also won silver medal in the 500m race last Monday after clocking 4:52.23. The Philippine Navy was hailed champion with a time of 4:49.21.

The Mighty Dragons capped off the tournament with two silver medals.

The team members were team captain Arnold Guinocor, Haide Acuña, Kareen Benavides, Killiaen Marie Ferrer, Jade Abellana, Jocelyn Hortizano, Michelle Malicay, Lorelie Casilan, Jean Dalumpinez Bolaño, Remia Buenacosa, Hyra dela Cruz, Cora Quiamco, Diomarie Grace Ferrer, Tj Camacho, Priscilla Pinky Castillo of Bugsay Pilipinas and Arianne Montillano. (RSC)