Monday , June 18, 2018

DepEd to recognize outstanding educators, non-teaching personnel

CITY OF SAN FERNANDO — The Department of Education (DepEd)-Central Luzon is set to hold the awards ceremony of the Second Regional Search for Outstanding Teaching and Non-Teaching Personnel on October 18 at the Laus Group Event Centre in celebration of National Teachers Month and World Teachers Day.

In a statement sent to SunStar Pampanga, DepEd-Central Luzon project coordinator Michelle Lacson, said the awardees were selected after the preliminary round of the search process which includes paper screening and validation by the preliminary screening and selection committee composed of regional division chiefs and education program supervisors and the final round of the search process composed of the interview for the two categories as well as demonstration teaching for the teacher category conducted by an external board of judges composed of representatives from the higher education institutions and civil society organizations and non-government organizations.

The external board of judges was composed of Dr. Elvira Balinas, dean of the College of Education of Angeles University Foundation and members Dr. Dexter Balajadia, dean of the College of Education of the University of the Assumption; Dr. Jessica Calma, principal of Dominican School of Mexico Inc.; and Clarita Magtoto, president and CEO of the Inocencio Magtoto Memorial Foundation.

The 10 outstanding DepEd teachers in the region are Raquel Moana Abolencia (Cabanatuan City), Mary Ann Angeles (Zambales), Gerard Bada (Zambales), Alma Bautista (Mabalacat City), Ruby Empania (Nueva Ecija), Maria Lucille Gabriel (Bulacan), Melandro Pascual (Malolos City), Allan David Valdez (Cabanatuan City), Raymond Villafane (Bulacan), and Johnny Viray (Pampanga).

Meanwhile, the outstanding DepEd non-teaching personnel are Christine Atienza (Malolos City), Raquel Climaco (Bulacan), Maura dela Torre (Bulacan), Ramon Garcia (Angeles City), Pilar Ignacio (Bataan), Josefina Naguit (Bataan), Josephine Pineda (Pampanga), Pepito Sembrano (Balanga City), and Marietta Silva (Balanga City).

DepEd-Central Luzon director Malcolm Garm said recognizing and giving awards to teachers who have exemplary achievements, commitment, and passion is one way to uplift the welfare of public school teachers.