Friday , June 22, 2018

Zamboanga Sibugay placed under state of calamity

THE Provincial Board of Zamboanga Sibugay has adopted a resolution declaring the province under the state of calamity due to the onslaught of Tropical Storm Vinta last month.

Vinta left five people dead and 10 towns flooded in Zamboanga Sibugay. The affected towns were Kabasalan, Tungawan, Siay, Alicia, Imelda, Payao, Mabuhay, Olutanga, Talusan, and Diplahan.

Zamboanga Sibugay Vice Governor Eldwin Alibutdan said the resolution was approved on Tuesday in accordance with Local Government Code of 1991, which provides that all local government units (LGUs) shall ensure public safety and protect the general welfare of its constituents and provide basic social services they need.

The resolution allows Zamboanga Sibugay Governor Wilter Palma to use the Quick Respond Fund (QRF) to augment the relief operation to the disaster stricken municipalities.

The Provincial Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Office reported to Palma that 25,054 people were displaced by Vinta.

Palma said that a total of 6,474 houses were affected by the flood of which 124 were damaged.