Sunday , May 27, 2018

Deep veneration for the festive season

A BRIGHT light continuing to shine in one’s heart despite everything else turning dark is what faith is about. It is a gift received by many who look past what can be seen by the naked eye to respect what can be felt by the soul. It is an experience that is very personal, yet it miraculously brings people together.

Ironically enough, relating this personal connection between the people and their faith cannot be easily put into words, which is why the religious Cebuano people, gather every third Sunday of the first month of the year to celebrate the faith that they placed in the Sto. Niño. This celebration transcends far more than words; it encompasses music, dance and even the arts.

To begin the festive season of Sinulog, 22 artists gathered together to relay their personal experiences and views about the blessed child, putting up an exhibit entitled “Sto. Niño: A Homage,” which was launched last Jan. 13 at SM Art Center on the third floor of SM City Cebu. The artists are composed of 16 painters from Cebu, two from Mindanao, and three painters and one sculptor from Manila. The exhibit is organized by SM Art Center SM City Cebu in cooperation with Art Portal Cebu headed by Celso Pepito and it will run until January 28.

The exhibit aims to make the viewing public understand the root of the Cebuanos’ veneration to Sr. Sto Nino through visual imagery. It also aims to entice the public to support and nurture the importance of creating art that promotes and uplifts the artistic Cebuano heritage.

The display features 61 paintings and 1 sculpture, each showing the individuality of the exhibiting artists and a merging of diverse cultures with backgrounds coming from different parts of the Philippines.

The artists are Noel Bueza, Cesar Castillo, Joel Cristobal, Rhodesa Cruzet, Jess Dinglasa, John Dinglasa, Efren Enolva, Bong Francisco, Jun Impas, Guido Lubanga, Mean Mustard, Clint Normandia, Joseph Ong, Celso Pepito, Fe Pepito, Lito Pepito, Ronnie Rudinas, Jojo Sagayno, Jun Tiongco, Antonio Vidal, Mar Vidal and Jik Villanueva.