Wednesday , June 20, 2018

8 lawmakers confirmed as colonels of AFP reserve force

THE Commission on Appointments (CA) on Wednesday, March 7, confirmed the nomination of House of Representatives Speaker Pantaleon Alvarez and seven other lawmakers from both houses of Congress to the rank of colonel in the reserve force of the various services of the Armed Forces of the Philippines (AFP).

Alvarez was confirmed as colonel of the Philippine Navy-Marines.

Also confirmed were the nominations of Senators Loren Legarda and Emmanuel "Manny" Pacquiao as colonels of the Philippine Air Force and Philippine Army (PA), respectively.

The CA also confirmed the nominations of four lawmakers from the House to the rank of colonels: Majority Leader Rodolfo Fariñas (Judge Advocate General Service), Deputy Speakers Gwendolyn Garcia (PA) and Bai Sandra Sema (PA), as well as Rep. Roy Loyola (PA).

Pangasinan Rep. Marlyn P. Agabas was confirmed as colonel of the Philippine Army (Reserve).

In addition, the CA gave its nod to the ad interim appointment of Major Gen. Rene Glen Paje. (PNA)