Villalon carries torch for local riders | SunStar

Villalon carries torch for local riders

Time to read
2 minutes
Read so far

Villalon carries torch for local riders

Friday, March 17, 2017

BAGUIO. Baguio's Mia Villalon leads the pack in the 85cc class en route to winning the crown during the 2017 Strawberry Festival Motocross held at the La Trinidad strawberry farm. (Roderick Osis)

BAGUIO lady rider Mia Villalon carried the torch for local riders after topping the 85cc category but Philippine motocross legends Jolet Jao and Jovie Sualog stole the limelight as they renew their rivalry in the recently concluded 2017 Strawberry Festival Motocross.

Villalon topped the junior 85 cc category edging Bibo Alindayo of Ifugao who settled for second place while David Malgapo of Isabela and Boyong Arcaina from Ifugao settled for third and fourth respectively as Wenson Reyes from Bulacan finishes fifth.

Motocross legends Jolet Jao and Jovie Saulog relieve their glory days in the dirt as they race to the finish with Jao taking on the top podium with Saulog settling for second place. Jonjon Antonio of Bulacan settled for third while Buboy Carno of Solano Nueva Vizcaya and Rowell Castellano of Pangasinan completed the top five podium finishers.

In the junior 50cc category, Zan Mamaril of Isabela took home the top purse as Ethan Morales from Bulacan settled for second while Xyxy Maximo (Pangasinan) and Tareel Jacob (Baguio) completed the top four finishers.

Wenson Reyes of Bulacan meanwhile placed first in the junior 65cc as David Malgapo of Isabela settled for second while Nathaniel Morales of Bulacan came in third as Kenneth Magbual from Abra salvaged fourth.

The ladies category saw Pia Gabriel of Nueva Ecija winning the top purse as Janelle Saulog from Manila edged Viallon who settled for second while Aira Padilla of Nueva Ecija came in third as Quiana Reyes of Bulacan finished fourth.

Langit Salonga of Isabela took home the trophy in the open underbone category as Mark Bancifra from La Union settled for second with Jayson Sarmineto (Pasay City), Eijero Beset (Baguio), and Wawa Amdengan (Baguio) completed the top five.

Edwin Tabangay from Ilocos Sur emerged the best rider in the All China category beating Emerson Acosta (Ilocos Sur), Sexter Subang (La Union), Rey Gamata (Ilocos Sur), and Crimpson Avila (Sta. Cruz) in the top five.

In the open endure, Tabangay returned to claim the crown anew with Danny Ray Halabas (Ilocos) settling for second while Andrew Dulay (La Trinidad) came in third as Langit Salonga (Isabela) and Rey Gamata (Ilocos) finished fourth and fifth respectively.

Rex Santander of Iloilo won the chamopionship in the executive class with Ben Pudlao of Baguio trailing for the second spot while Mike Zolin (Alabang), Rowell Castellano (Pangasinan) and Edwin Tabangay (Ilocos) completed the top five.

The rookies division saw Clyde Alindayo of Ifugao topping the event while Austine Alleson of Ilocos settled for second while Kyle Abad of Baguio came in third with brothers Aaron and Adrian Mitiam of Bulacan finished fourth and fifth respectively.

In the amateur division, Ompong Gabriel of Nueva Ecija finished first followed by Ck Ramento (Marikina), Buboy Antonio (Bulacan), Kieram Magbual (Abra) and Kurt Amdengan(Baguio).

Buboy Antonio of Bulacan checked in first in the intermediate division as Gabriel settled for second while Ramento (Marikina), Magbual (Abra) and Kurt Amdengan of Baguio completed the top five.

Gabriel took another title in the pro 250 category besting Ralph ramento of Marikina, Jao, Buboy Antonio of Bulacan and Amdengan
Ralph Ramento meanwhile topped the pro–open with Jerick Mitra(Nueva Ecija), Buboy Antonio (Bulacan), Ck Ramento, and Jao completing the top five.

Published in the Sun.Star Baguio newspaper on March 18, 2017.

Latest issues of SunStar Baguio also available on your mobile phones, laptops, and tablets. Subscribe to our digital editions at and get a free seven-day trial.

View Comments