Baguio darters shine in P100k tournament

-A A +A

Tuesday, July 17, 2012

CORDILLERA Darters Association’s Dave Martin edged fellow CDA member Nelson Uligan in their best of five finals series to win the top prize in the open singles at the close of the CDA Darts Tournament at the BCNHS Auditorium.

Martin, in winning the crown, cashed in on the top purse of P14,000 and a trophy while Uligan brought home P8,000 in cash prizes and a trophy for his second place finish.

Manila’s Jessie Anion and Baguio’s Bryan Gangpao settled for third and fourth place, respectively, and pocketed P2,000 each plus certificates while the 5th to 8th placers who received P1,000 each were Willy Omli, Oliver Orduña, Leo Safuket, and Jerry Suerto.


In the non-rated singles, Baguio City’s Kenneth Madalang topped the event by edging LA Trinidad’s Dexter Sotto while James Chan and Norm Seo-as was at joint third with Bryan Gangpao, victor Aguilar, Dave Camillo and Paolo Nebrida in joint fifth place finish.

Madalang took home the P7,500 plus trophy, while Sotto got P3,300 and a trophy, while Chan and Seo-as received P1,200 plus certificates with the fifth placers getting P450 each in the tournament as part of the Cordillera Day celebration and the group’s one year anniversary.

Paolo Nebrida of Zambales meanwhile edged Carlo Eruela for the top purse in the youth singles division and brought home P1,400 and a trophy with the latter getting P800 and a certificate while Doodz Virginio and JM Abacan get P400 each for their third and fourth place finish, respectively.

The draw doubles saw the pair of Elmer Pabling and Sheila Pinget cashing in the top prize as they blanked the pair of Max Tudlong and Jeff Pinas who settled for second while Mutz Banjo and Charles Tay-og Jr. salvaging third place.

Manny Abratique, Norman Seo-as, and Joe Baylon defeated the trio of Ranz Cadio, Dexter Sotto, and Jayson Agbayani for the top prize in the three-man team competition as Dave Martin, Jim Cawaing, and Joseph Bolinget Sr. together with Marvin Bacayan, Willy Omli, and Jet Avicilla settled for third and fourth, respectively.

Ed Paringit of Urdaneta stomped Joseph Bolingit Sr. of Sagada for the crown in the seniors division with Ray Calaycay and Nel Bocao salvaging third and fourth place honors, respectively.

In the ladies and gay singles, Siony Laluan topped the contest while Nancy Decaran settled for second while Sharlene Obillo and Aileen Fernandez came third and fourth, respectively.

Published in the Sun.Star Baguio newspaper on July 18, 2012.


DISCLAIMER: Sun.Star website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessary reflect the views of the Sun.Star management and its affiliates. Sun.Star reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules: Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent and respectful. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!

Today's front page

Sun.Star Baguio's front page for February 2, 2015

Other front pages

Sun.Star Jobs
  • Technology
  • Pacman blog
  • Festivals
  • SunStar Celebrity
  • Sunstar Multimedia
  • tell it to sunstar
  • Filipino Abroad
  • Pnoy
  • Calamity Report
  • Sun.Star Zup!
  • Philippine Polls
  • Obituary
  • Habemus Papam
  • ePaper
  • goodearth
  • Sinulog