BSU crowned champs in Carasuc

-A A +A

Thursday, December 26, 2013

BENGUET State University (BSU) dominated over other colleges to gain the overall champion in the recently concluded Cordillera Administrative Region Association of State Universities and Colleges (Carasuc) athletic meet 2013.

Taking advantage of their home turf, BSU romped away with its 93-50-17 gold-silver-bronze medal tally at the close of the four-day sports event December 11-14 and won their fourth consecutive crown.

BSU athletic director Eduardo Laconsay said he was proud their school once again stole the limelight for the annual sports event.

"We are proud to say that BSU produces some of the best athletes here in the Cordillera, with our dedication to sports we really give importance to our student athletes," said Laconsay.

Laconsay also mentioned the continuous promotion of the different sports in their university with the help and participation of other from SUCs in the region.

Student athletes from Abra Institute of Science and Technology, Ifugao State University, Kalinga Apayao State College, Mountain Province State Polytechnic College, and University of the Philippines-Baguio took their time out to join the regional meet.

Sport events competed in Carasuc included athletics, basketball, volleyball, sepak takraw, badminton, chess, taekwondo, arnis, lawn tennis, table tennis, soccer, and softball.

MPSPC came in 1st runner up with their 23-34-55 medal tally, while IFSU landed 2nd runner up after snatching away 23-28-21 medal haul.

ASIST fell short of their expectations gathering 12-15-14, with UP Baguio 12-4-14, KASC 7-13-36, and ASC 4-19-18, securing the 3rd, 4th, 5th, and 6th runners up spots.

According to Carasuc 2013 athletic chairman Eduardo Bagtang, the sports meet will screen athletes from the regional area to be sent and compete in the national event which is the State College and Universities Athletic Association (SCUAA) next year.

"With this athletic, meet we can determine the potential candidates whom we shall send in the national competitions," Bagtang said.

"We look forward to the success of the event, I wish all the participants the best of luck and be best on their respective sports event," Bagtang added.

BSU was earlier awarded a perpetual trophy after coming home the over-all champion from 2010-2012.

Carasuc organizers said the perpetual trophy is awarded to the SUC's who won three straight year in the athletic meet.

Published in the Sun.Star Baguio newspaper on December 27, 2013.


DISCLAIMER: Sun.Star website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessary reflect the views of the Sun.Star management and its affiliates. Sun.Star reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules: Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent and respectful. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!
Holy Week 2014

FOREX: US$ 1.00 = PhP 44.420

Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas

Philippine Lotto Results

Gamesort iconCombinations
Swertres Lotto 11AM8-9-8
Swertres Lotto 4PM4-5-2
Swertres Lotto 9PM6-0-7
EZ2 Lotto 9PM04-02

Today's front page

Sun.Star Baguio front page for April 21, 2014

Other front pages

Sun.Star Jobs
  • Sun.Star Zup!
  • Pacman blog
  • Filipino Abroad
  • Technology
  • Philippine Polls
  • Festivals
  • Pnoy
  • tell it to sunstar
  • goodearth
  • ePaper
  • Sunstar Multimedia
  • Calamity Report
  • Obituary
  • Sinulog
  • SunStar Celebrity
  • Habemus Papam