Individuals honored in Alaska Power Camp | SunStar

Individuals honored in Alaska Power Camp

Time to read
1 minute
Read so far

Individuals honored in Alaska Power Camp

Tuesday, June 13, 2017

BAGUIO. Participants who exerted their efforts during the Alaska Basketball Power Camp were given the 100 percent award at PMA Jurado Hall last weekend. (Milo Brioso)

ELITE junior basketball players in Baguio City were named among the best during the weeklong Alaska Basketball Power Camp held at the Jurado Hall of the Philippine Military Academy.

Jr. NBA Philippines alumni Jazy de Ayre led the cast of top individual awardees during the weekend which saw 219 kids, including 24 girls at the Philippine Military Academy gym for eight days under Alaska Aces assistant coach and camp director Jeffrey Cariaso.

Joining De Ayre as the most valuable player in the weeklong sports clinic are Lawrence Quizon, Pierre Luis Bugayong, Jaybesh Nafuran, Jasmine Therese Mencio, John Dave Lamwas, Francis John Ching Francis Andrae Espino, and Bernardo Vergara III.

The weeklong basketball power camp, according to coach John Ramirez was a venue to help young athletes develop their talent and excel in their performance in the near future and at the same time promotes Alaska’s belief that sports play an important role in instilling positive values among the youth including discipline, hard work, teamwork and determination.

Ramirez added the Baguio camp saw young basketball players easily follow scientific instructions and interest in basketball regardless of their age.

“Ang babata pa nga nila pero nakita naming na yung basketball skills nila is sobrang taas kaya were very proud that we were able to conduct our power camp here,” added Ramirez.

Leading the 100 percent awardee is Prince Cedrick Sanchez together with Hugh Emmanuel Dominguez, Andre Daniel Ugay, Mariz Sambrana, Pocholo Tibayan, Konrad Theodor Quizon, and Zak Gumaya while awardees in the core value include Aeon Lance Kim, Zak Gumaya, Jade Zachary De Ayre, Angelo Gabriel Penollar, Harold jospeh Dominguez, Ethan Rodellas, Miliani Menchi Tsukyama, and Neo Hesus de Leon.

Named as best defenders are Ezra Delos Santos, Jarred Drey Dee, Ralvin Jay Magalong, Karlo Christian Carlos, Jaybesh Nafuran, Mariz Zambrana and Eric Paolo Flores while the best shooters were Kurt Vinluan, Nigel Alvan Manangan, Rae Dominic Hidalgo, Jaybesh Nafuran, Karlo Josh Purugganan and Thomas Celino.

The camp continues previous Alaska basketball power camps of past years which teaches the most important aspects of the game adding only innovations which will help participants improve their play.

Through the Power Camp, Alaska helps the youth develop skills in team sports like basketball as well as the fundamental values that develop character and necessary attributes for success not just in sports but in everyday life.

The power camp also allows participants to have a full out experience of the game and use the values they learn in the process no matter what careers they end up doing and at the same time improve their confidence, love and understanding of the game. (Roderick Osis)

Published in the SunStar Baguio newspaper on June 14, 2017.

Latest issues of SunStar Baguio also available on your mobile phones, laptops, and tablets. Subscribe to our digital editions at and get a free seven-day trial.

View Comments