Winners in La Trinidad proclaimed

-A A +A

Wednesday, May 12, 2010

LA TRINIDAD, Benguet -- Winners from the province were declared later Tuesday afternoon following minor delays from highland towns.

Basing from the official Provincial Canvass Reports, the congressional race was won by Ronald Cosalan with 48,732 votes over closest rival businessman Jack Dulnuan, who got 37,992 votes. In for third spot was Liso Agpas, who got 30,888 votes.

Click here for Election 2010 updates


Mario Godio followed with 20,075, and Ricardo Angluben with 6,178. Tail enders were Thomas Chamos and Bedis Guznian who got 1,945 and 210 votes, respectively.

Cosalan enjoined everyone to unite for a better Benguet as he thanked his family for the support during the elections.

Cosalan also announced plans and vision for the province as he vowed to work hand-in-hand with the rest of the elected officials of the province.

Incumbent Governor Nestor Fongwan in an emotional acceptance speech said mudslinging for this election was the worst but he was happy the elections results vindicated him.

Fongwan won over two erstwhile rivals with a commanding 87,618, followed by incumbent congressman Samuel Dangwa, who got 40,563 votes, and former governor Raul Molintas, who got 20,189 votes.

Fongwan said "campaigning is not destroying your opponent... there was too much mudslinging [during the [past campaign period]." He added the best way to win an election is to present yourself honestly to the people and not to destroy the personality of your opponent.

The incumbent governor complained of black propaganda hurled against him in the final stretch of the campaign, in a bid to unseat him from the province's top seat.

Fongwan said the recent elections results vindicated him with an unprecedented lead of over 46,000 votes over his opponents. "Voters here are issue, performance and platform based."

Fongwan said he was likewise surprised with the wide lead margin he had over rivals. "I was so surprised and thankful."

The governor offered his hand of cooperation to Cosalan in his parting words and vowed to work closely together for the betterment of the province.

Lakas-Kampi-CMD party-mate Crescencio Pacalso likewise pulled through with 100,594 over Sacla Wasing, who got a mere 30,664 votes.

Provincial Board first district winners were Juan Nazarro Jr. with 27,005, followed by new comers Alfonso Fianza (25,310), Benjamin Saguid (20,531), and Johnny Waguis (20,530).

For the second district, Nelson Dangwa led with 49,685 votes, followed by Florence Tingbaoen at 40,623 votes, Apolinario Camsol at 40,236, incumbent Rogelio Leon with 38,669, and newcomer Conception Balao who got 35,358.

Proclamation was stalled for two days pending technical difficulties from Kapangan and Itogon towns because Precinct Count Optical Scan machines failed to transmit and its compact flash cards refused to read results.

The Commission on Elections with automation partner Smartmatic worked on sending technicians and new cards to the two municipalities to be able to proclaim winners Wednesday afternoon in simple rites at the provincial capitol grounds. (Maria Elena Catajan/With Arnel Bautista)

Winners la trinidad proclaimed

DISCLAIMER: Sun.Star website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessary reflect the views of the Sun.Star management and its affiliates. Sun.Star reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules: Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent and respectful. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!

FOREX: US$ 1.00 = PhP 44.087

Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas

Philippine Lotto Results

Gamesort iconCombinations
EZ2 Lotto 11AM04-18
EZ2 Lotto 4PM06-18
EZ2 Lotto 9PM15-26
Megalotto 6/4537-14-33-07-03-02
More results

Today's front page

Sun.Star Baguio's front page for February 28, 2015

Other front pages