Aquino names BI chief, other new officials

-A A +A

Saturday, December 21, 2013

PRESIDENT Benigno Aquino III has appointed Siegfred Mison as the new commissioner of the Bureau of Immigration (BI), Malacanang announced on Saturday.

Mison's appointment was signed by the President on December 18, Deputy presidential spokesperson Abigail Valte said in a radio interview over dzRB Radyo ng Bayan.

Mison considers his appointment as an early Christmas gift.

"Yes of course because somehow I am happy that President Benigno Aquino III has given his trust on me to head the bureau," Mison said in a telephone interview.

He added that his tenure as BI Commissioner is co terminus with the term of Aquino, which will end on 2016.

The newly appointed government official noted that nothing will change that he is now the head of the BI.

"It's just the same, it will be the same responsibility. Again, I am grateful that the President has given me his trust," said Mison who is the agency's acting chief prior to his appointment.

Since Mison is now the head of the bureau among his duties is the authority to implement changes including the moving of personnel.

"The power would be broader, the authority would be more but as I said to Justice Department Secretary Leila de Lima, when he spoke on Friday, I told her I was appointed as commissioner I would always defer to her wisdom when it comes to make policy decisions," the BI chief added.

Mison said that he has not yet spoken with the President, but he has promised to him, when he earlier accepted the position that he will work through his heart.

The BI Commissioner was appointed as officer in charge by de Lima last July replacing former Commissioner Ricardo David Jr.

Meanwhile, Aquino also appointed lawyer Nonnatus Cesar Rojas as Regional Prosecutor for the Office of the Regional Prosecutor in Ilocos Region.

The Office of the Regional Prosecutor is under the National Prosecution Service of the Department of Justice. Rojas became the chief of the National Bureau of Investigation but he eventually resigned.

The President also designated Vicente Malano as acting administrator of the Philippine Atmospheric, Geophysical and Astronomical Services Administration (Pagasa), and Florita Villar as undersecretary of the Department of Social Welfare and Development (DSWD).

Other appointees include Gregorio Ramon Tingson as commissioner of the National Youth Commission in Luzon, and Dominador Santos Jr. as new member of the Board of Dentistry under the Professional Regulations Commission. (SDR/FP/Sunnex)

DISCLAIMER: Sun.Star website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessary reflect the views of the Sun.Star management and its affiliates. Sun.Star reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules: Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent and respectful. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!
Holy Week 2014

FOREX: US$ 1.00 = PhP 44.420

Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas

Philippine Lotto Results

Gamesort iconCombinations
Swertres Lotto 11AM8-9-8
Swertres Lotto 4PM4-5-2
Swertres Lotto 9PM6-0-7
EZ2 Lotto 9PM04-02

Sun.Star Jobs
  • SunStar Celebrity
  • Philippine Polls
  • Festivals
  • Pacman blog
  • Calamity Report
  • Sinulog
  • Pnoy
  • Habemus Papam
  • Sun.Star Zup!
  • tell it to sunstar
  • Obituary
  • Filipino Abroad
  • Sunstar Multimedia
  • ePaper
  • Technology
  • goodearth