Opol seeks crown vs Green CdeO’s Team B tonight | SunStar

Opol seeks crown vs Green CdeO’s Team B tonight

Time to read
less than
1 minute
Read so far

Opol seeks crown vs Green CdeO’s Team B tonight

Friday, June 16, 2017

IT’S the powerhouse Opol Eagles Club versus Green CdeO Eagles Club’s Team B in the finals of the NMR-1 Governor’s Cup 2017 inter-club basketball tournament tonight at Macasandig covered court here.

This, after the Opol Eagles of team-playing managers Jerry Tamayo and Roldan Kaamiño put up a strong showing in the fourth quarter to beat Green CdeO’s Team A, and the latter’s Team B fashioned out a thrilling four-point escape over Bulua Red Clay to reach the championship round as the only unbeaten squad.

“I think my counterpart center (Loloy Gelogo) from Green CdeO is raring to prove his worth kay nabutang ra sila (including Totsie Daitol, Ramil Miralles, Balong Mabalot and Ternate) sa Team B this year,” said Opol’s starting center Rex Armojallas.

Opol, though, is also seeking to avenge its only loss to Gelogo and company in early part of the elimination round at Gusa gym.

Apart from Armojallas, the heavily-favored Opol has also Boyet Alfeche, Edmund Tilap, Jojo Mahistrado, Owen Ubay-ubay and Jerome Pagute in its vaunted roster.

Alfeche, a former star forward of Liceo Titans, did the chief damage to Green CdeO A’s defense in the final half with his all-around performance.
“Actually, kumpyansa lang adtong napilde namo sila sa Gusa. Hopefully, basin naa na sab tsamba sa finals,” said Daitol, the newly-crown civic division MVP in Bonbon Summer League.

Green CdeO’s Team A of Gilbert Magdugo, Janjan Babiera, and Loloy Casiño battles the Daing brothers-led Bulua Red Clay for third place at 7 p.m.

Published in the SunStar Cagayan de Oro newspaper on June 17, 2017.

View Comments