Kauswagan downs Puerto in overtime to win title | SunStar

Kauswagan downs Puerto in overtime to win title

Time to read
less than
1 minute
Read so far

Kauswagan downs Puerto in overtime to win title

Sunday, June 18, 2017

JHUNRY Menaling lifted Kauswagan to a thrilling 87-80 overtime win over Puerto to capture the Under-17 title of the 2017 Inter-Barangay basketball championship recently at Macasandig covered courts in Cagayan de Oro City.

Menaling scored a game high of 31 points, while Rance Achacoso and Loreesh Magsayo chipped in eight points each.

Rene Boy Alisbo and Jomarie dela Piedra also added seven points each.

From a tight game in the fourth quarter, Kauswagan village chairman Pedro Balite broke away with a five-point lead with 1:20 minutes remaining, 69-62.

Kauswagan was on the verge of closing the match with a three-point advantage with eight seconds to go at 72-69, but Stanley Bedolido sank a buzzer-beater three-pointer to keep Puerto alive with a 72-all deadlock and forced an overtime.

Puerto’s offensives went out cold in the overtime as it allowed Kauswagan to rally with Menaling leading the 8-1 run that sealed the contest and insure its titular finish.

Bedolido led Puerto with 23 points, while center Roseldo Detablan poured in 18 points.

Kauswagan limped in the third quarter after their daredevil player Dela Piedra suffered an injury in the third period. Dela Piedra fell hard in front of Detablan during a lay-up with 1:12 minute left in the third. He was rested but checked back with 1:11 minute in overtime.

Menaling missed five three-point attempts in the first half but started to hit six from the arc in the second half.

Published in the SunStar Cagayan de Oro newspaper on June 18, 2017.

View Comments