Abba’s Orchard booters advance to Division meet | SunStar

Abba’s Orchard booters advance to Division meet

Time to read
1 minute
Read so far

Abba’s Orchard booters advance to Division meet

Sunday, September 10, 2017

CAGAYAN DE ORO. Abba's Orchard School coaches Don Derrick Derequito (standing left) and Lance Francisco (right) here with some members of their boys football team receiving an award during the Davao Aguilas FC Cagayan de Oro Fiesta Football Festival. (Douglas Hero)

ABBA’S Orchard Montessori School of Cagayan de Oro City (CDO) with players training at their La Granja Estates, Pualas, Baungon, Bukidnon just bordering the hills of Indahag, this city, made it to the CDO Division meet football competitions easily.

They dominated the East 1 District meet defeating the Regional Science High School 4-0 in a lone match and then they swept the same school in the Girls Futsal event, 3-0 in the first match and then 7–2 in the second.

Their Elementary Boys team automatically advanced to the division meets as it did not have any opponent in the East 1 District.

Regular Palaro player Kent Quieta scored three goals, while Francis Esguerra scored the other goal.

In the Girls Futsal, Kendra Pang-an scored two while Eryn Tapangot added one in their first match. Uyel Villanueva scored six goals in the second match and Merliel Putong scored the other goal.

“We are looking for a tough competition in the Division meet especially against the combination of Rosevale School and Xavier University in the West 1 District and the West 2 District of Corpus School and St. Mary’s School.

Abba’s Orchard School is one of the few football playing private schools in CDO. The school management is very supportive to its football program.

It has already produced players for the national youth teams like the Borlongan brothers Jethro, and JB, Troy Limbo, and Greg Naguines.

East 1 District High School Boys Football Champion: Abba’s Orchard School- Von Baquiran, Andre Sylee, David Chan, Vito Alagadan, Fitz Chaves, Kaiser Pimentel, Francis Esguerra, Kent Quieta, Ernesto Seriosa, Emman Cabrera, Jon Mejia, Jules Igot, Gian Capitan, Rob Putong, Austin Sylee, Mathew Valdevilla, Don Derick Dereguito (Head Coach), Lance Francisco (Assistant Coach).

East 1 District Futsal High School Girls Champion: Abba’s Orchard School-Uyel Villanueva, Eryn Tapangot, Marah quilang, Mia de Guzman, Merliel Putong, Kendra Pang-an, Noelle Bato, Lexine Ang, Don Derick Derquito (Coach), Lance Francisco (Assistant Coach).

Published in the SunStar Cagayan de Oro newspaper on September 10, 2017.

View Comments