‘Oscars’ invites Mendoza, Diaz | SunStar

‘Oscars’ invites Mendoza, Diaz

Time to read
1 minute
Read so far

‘Oscars’ invites Mendoza, Diaz

Tuesday, July 04, 2017

FAMED Pinoy directors Brillante Mendoza and Lav Diaz have been invited to become members of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, better known as the Academy. It is a professional organization that is behind the annual Academy Awards or Oscars.

Last week, the Academy announced it has invited 683 new members to the prestigious organization. There were 774 invitations handed out but some 30 people got duplicate invites from different categories: actors, directors, writers, cinematographers, costume designers and 12 others.

The members will vote, in the categories they have been invited in, in the annual Oscar awards. This means that Mendoza and Diaz will help choose the 2018 best director.

Academy president Cheryl Boone Isaacs said the new members are the most diverse yet as they came from 57 countries. Mendoza and Diaz were the only Filipinos in the list, according to the Philippine Entertainment Portal.

Mendoza's latest critically acclaimed film was Ma' Rosa, which competed in the 2016 Cannes Film Festival. Jaclyn Jose won the Best Actress award in the festival. The film was also the Philippines' representative to the Best Foreign Language Film categorty in the 2017 Oscars, but it failed to make the cut.

Lav Diaz, on the other hand, helmed Ang Babaeng Humayo, which won the Golden Lion in the 2016 Venice Film Festival.

Both directors have a long list of internationally acclaimed films. Among Diaz's noteworthy films are Norte, Hangganang ng Kasaysayan and Hele sa Hiwagang Hapis. Mendoza's include Service, Kinatay, Grandmother, Captive, Thy Womb and Taklub.

Other directors invited to become Academy members are Moonlight's Barry Jenkins, Get Out's Jordan Peele, Anthony and Joe Russo who are collectively known as the Russo Brothers of Ant-Man and Captain America: Civil War fame, and Tom Ford—yes, the designer who also directed A Single Man and Nocturnal Animals.

Peele and Jenkins are among those who got a double invitation. The former was also invited as an actor, and the latter as a writer.

Those who get nominated for an Oscar, like Jenkins, get an automatic invite.

Other noted celebrities in the list are actors Leslie Jones, Dwayne Johnson, Riz Ahmed, and married couple Chris Pratt and Anna Faris.

Other actors invited to join the group include Priyanka Chopra, Janelle Monae, Elle Fanning, Donald Glover, Chris Hemsworth, Jon Hamm, Betty White, Terry Crews, John Cho, Zoe Kravitz and Wonder Woman herself, Gal Gadot. Several Saturday Night Live alumnae also received invites: Amy Poehler, Molly Shannon, Maya Rudolph and current star Kate McKinnon.

According to Deadline, Fanning is the youngest invitee at 19 while White is the oldest at 95. (JGA & AP)

Published in the SunStar Cebu newspaper on July 05, 2017.

Latest issues of SunStar Cebu also available on your mobile phones, laptops, and tablets. Subscribe to our digital editions at epaper.sunstar.com.ph and get a free seven-day trial.

View Comments