Another district in Cebu approved by House

-A A +A

Sunday, September 18, 2011

A PROPOSAL to divide the second district of Cebu Province was passed on its third reading in the House of Representatives and now awaits action by the Senate, Deputy Speaker Pablo Garcia said.

If the Senate agrees, an eighth district for Cebu Province will be created, comprising the towns of Argao, Dalaguete, Alcoy, Boljoon, Oslob, Santander and Samboan.

The remaining eight towns of the second district will be Dumanjug, Ronda, Alcantara, Moalboal, Badian, Alegria, Malabuyoc and Ginatilan.


Garcia, who served three terms as governor of Cebu, has said his Priority Development Assistance Fund (PDAF) is spread too thinly among the district’s 15 towns. They also have the most number of barangays at 284.

In his bill’s explanatory note, the deputy speaker pointed out that district legislators are expected not only to work on legislation but also to provide constituency services.

Garcia re-filed the bill in December 2010, and it was referred to the House committee on local governments last February.

At least two officials from the district welcomed the latest development, because if approved, it will lead to more projects for their towns.

Alcoy Mayor Nick de los Santos said he was already informed about its approval in the Lower House and looks forward to a bigger share of the PDAF for each town.

It also creates an opportunity for those interested in running for a seat in the House, he said.

Samboan Mayor Raymond Calderon said projects given to them right now are limited because all of the 15 towns have to share the congressman’s PDAF.

His twin brother, Provincial Board Member Peter John Calderon, shared the observation.

PB Member Calderon also said that from the towns of Argao to Samboan, they already have a preferred candidate for congressman in 2013, PB Member Wilfredo Caminero.

Sun.Star Cebu failed to contact Caminero yesterday.

Santander Vice Mayor Wilson Wenceslao said they have already decided that Caminero should run.

PB Members Calderon, Caminero and Wenceslao are close friends.

The latest district of Cebu Province is the lone district of Lapu-Lapu City, created a few months before the May 2010 elections and now represented by former mayor Arturo Radaza. 

Published in the Sun.Star Cebu newspaper on September 18, 2011.

Local news

DISCLAIMER: Sun.Star website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessary reflect the views of the Sun.Star management and its affiliates. Sun.Star reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules: Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent and respectful. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!

Today's front page

Sun.Star Cebu front page for December 21, 2014

Other front pages

Sun.Star Jobs
  • ePaper
  • SunStar Celebrity
  • Sinulog
  • Philippine Polls
  • Calamity Report
  • tell it to sunstar
  • Sunstar Multimedia
  • goodearth
  • Festivals
  • Sun.Star Zup!
  • Pnoy
  • Pacman blog
  • Technology
  • Filipino Abroad
  • Habemus Papam
  • Obituary