International group picks Cebu ex-councilor

-A A +A

Sunday, December 2, 2012

A FORMER Cebu City councilor, who is the president of the Cebu Newspaper Workers Foundation (Cenewof), was elected president of the Association of South East Asian Nations (Asean) Psychiatrists.

Dr. Pureza Trinidad-Oñate said that upon her election to the Philippine Psychiatric Association (PPA) board, she received this note from PPA president Roemo Enriquez, “I have the pleasure, therefore, to inform you that, based on your leadership skills, your integrity, your trouble-shooting skills, your empathy and sensitivity to the needs of others and that of the organizations, you have been selected unanimously by the Philippine Psychiatric Association Board to be recommended to the AFPMH as the next president for 2012-2014.”



The first Filipino AFPMH president was Dr. Efren Reyes of the National Center for Mental Health in 1991-1993, followed by Dr. Cornelio Banaag of the University of the Philippines in 2001-2003.

Oñate, current Medical Director of the Cebu Perpetual Succour Hospital and President of the Cebu Metro Psychiatry, Inc., attended the symbolic handover ceremony with AFPMH president Dr. Lee Ee Lian of Singapore last Nov. 16 at Marina Mandarin Hotel in Singapore.

She finished her Bachelor of Science (pre-med Major in Psychology) from the pontifical University of Santo Tomas in Manila and received her Doctor of Medicine diploma from the Cebu Institute of Medicine.

She went to the United States for residency training and received certification in adult psychiatry for three years and one year in child and adolescent psychiatry programs from the University of Michigan Medical Center in Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA.

She is involved in the development of new breed of Filipino psychiatrists.

She is also a founding member of the Philippine Society of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry.

She served in the board of directors of the organization and past chairperson and is still current member of the Board of Examiners in the specialization of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry.


The Philippine Medical Association acknowledged her leadership skills when the Cebu Medical Society was recognized as the Most Outstanding Chapter during her presidency in 1996-97, and she was also given the Most Outstanding Chapter President Award in the same year. The American PMA gave her the Leadership Award in 1996.

She was in medical school teaching psychiatry for twenty years, having had faculty appointments as assistant professor at Cebu Doctors’ University College of Medicine, Cebu Institute of Medicine and the University of the Visayas—Gullas College of Medicine. She is currently President of the Cebu Newspaper Workers Foundation and at the same time serves as chairperson of the committee that allocates funds for medical needs to the tri-media staff and workers.

She is the President of the Cebu Citizens-Press Council. She was the first Chairperson of Cebu Newspaper Workers Cooperative (Newscoop). She was a Cebu City Councilor for six years during the entire presidential term of former president Corazon Aquino. (PR)

Published in the Sun.Star Cebu newspaper on December 03, 2012.

Local news

DISCLAIMER: Sun.Star website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessary reflect the views of the Sun.Star management and its affiliates. Sun.Star reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules: Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent and respectful. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!

Today's front page

Sun.Star Cebu front page for December 19, 2014

Other front pages

Sun.Star Jobs
  • ePaper
  • Sinulog
  • Pacman blog
  • SunStar Celebrity
  • Sunstar Multimedia
  • Philippine Polls
  • Sun.Star Zup!
  • Technology
  • Festivals
  • Obituary
  • Habemus Papam
  • tell it to sunstar
  • Pnoy
  • Calamity Report
  • Filipino Abroad
  • goodearth