DepEd releases list of school holidays for 2015

-A A +A

Tuesday, August 5, 2014


THE Department of Education (DepEd) today announced the schedule of holidays--regular, special non-working, and special--for all schools in 2015.

The list, which DepEd posted on its website www.deped.gov.ph, was released after Malacañang issued earlier Presidential Proclamation No. 831, which listed the dates of holidays in the country for next year.

Education Secretary Armin Luistro said the list must be disseminated immediately to guide all DepEd offices and schools, both public and private, in planning their academic calendars.

Advertisement

“Information crucial to planning should be distributed with urgency; it steers decision-making functions and policies to their most efficient positions. It is a way to ensure that we are proactive in delivering the education agenda," Luistro said.

Below is the list of holidays:

REGULAR HOLIDAYS

New Year’s Day - 1 January (Thursday)
Maundy Thursday - 2 April
Good Friday - 3 April
Araw ng Kagitingan - 9 April (Thursday)
Labor Day - 1 May (Friday)
Independence Day - 12 June (Friday)
National Heroes Day - 31 August (last Monday of August)
Bonifacio Day - 30 November (Monday)
Christmas Day - 25 December (Friday)
Rizal Day - 30 December (Wednesday)

SPECIAL NON-WORKING DAYS

Chinese New Year - 19 February (Thursday)
Black Saturday - 4 April
Ninoy Aquino Day - 21 August (Friday)
All Saints Day - 1 November (Sunday)

OTHER SPECIAL NON-WORKING DAYS

2 January (Friday)
24 December (Thursday)
31 December (Thursday)

SPECIAL HOLIDAY FOR ALL SCHOOLS

EDSA Revolution Anniversary - 25 February (Wednesday)

In the same announcement, DepEd said proclamation on the observance of Eid’l Fitr and Eidul Adha will be issued by the National Commission on Muslim Filipinos at a later date.

Local news

DISCLAIMER: Sun.Star website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessary reflect the views of the Sun.Star management and its affiliates. Sun.Star reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules: Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent and respectful. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!

Today's front page

Sun.Star Cebu's front page for September 20, 2014

Other front pages

Sun.Star Jobs
  • Pnoy
  • Filipino Abroad
  • SunStar Celebrity
  • Calamity Report
  • Festivals
  • goodearth
  • Philippine Polls
  • Pacman blog
  • Sinulog
  • Obituary
  • Sun.Star Zup!
  • Sunstar Multimedia
  • Technology
  • Habemus Papam
  • tell it to sunstar
  • ePaper