Editorial: Approved rehab plan

Monday, July 28, 2014 - 10:53 p.m.

THE provincial government and local government units (LGUs) in Yolanda-hit northern Cebu got what they wanted from President Noynoy Aquino’s State of the Nation Address (Sona) yesterday. The President mentioned his approval of the rehabilitation plans for Cebu, Samar, Eastern Samar, Leyte, Tacloban City and Iloilo.

Roperos: What’s happening?

Monday, July 28, 2014 - 10:53 p.m.

SOME years back, when then vice president Emmanuel Pelaez was ambushed on the way home to his house in Quezon City in the vicinity of a soft drinks company, he asked rescuers that arrived: “What’s happening to our country?” When I read some reports in newspapers recently, I recalled the vice president’s question, and was tempted to ask the same.

Wenceslao: State of rabble-rousing

Monday, July 28, 2014 - 10:52 p.m.

WHEN President Noynoy Aquino delivered his fifth State of the Nation Address (Sona) yesterday, the flurry of activities surrounding it also showed the state of rabble-rousing in the country.

Seares: Castration with consent

Monday, July 28, 2014 - 10:51 p.m.

“THE court cannot allow a castration of a vital part of the checks and balance enshrined in the Constitution, even if (Congress) suicidally consents to it .”

--Supreme Court Senior Associate Justice Antonio Carpio, in his separate opinion on DAP, which concurred with the 13-0 ruling that it was unconstitutional

Tell it to Sunstar: PNoy: an appraisal

Monday, July 28, 2014 - 10:50 p.m.

I am no longer working with the national government, having resigned in April 2013 as director of the subsidiary corporation of the Philippine National Oil Corp. (PNOC).

Despite my role in the last gubernatorial elections, I have not asked for any position in the provincial government.

Editorial: Fighting hunger

Sunday, July 27, 2014 - 09:10 p.m.

HUNGER stalks and marks the young in more ways than one.

Insufficiency or inadequacy of nutrients in the diet of children arrests their growth and impairs their future chances of self-actualization.

Wenceslao: Labeling me yellow

Sunday, July 27, 2014 - 09:08 p.m.

I GOT a short message in my Inbox recently stating simply, “You are a yellow journalist.” I was more amused than offended by the label. After all, readers and so-called netizens have been tagging me that, every time I write an article that they feel is not anti-Aquino enough. But I was interested to know what the “yellow” adjective meant to the reader.

Nalzaro: P-Noy’s 4th Sona

Sunday, July 27, 2014 - 09:07 p.m.

PRESIDENT Simeon Benigno “Noynoy” Aquino III will deliver his State of the Nation Address (Sona) this afternoon in a joint session of the Congress.

Seares: When symptoms persist, kill your doctor?

Sunday, July 27, 2014 - 09:06 p.m.

UNLIKE lawyers, for whom there’s the readily available but often misused Shakespeare quote “Let’s kill all the lawyers,” there’s none about doctors and killing.

What I heard from a doctor friend wasn’t remotely related to mayhem: “Doctors are great--as long as you don’t need them.”

Mongaya: Pot getting hot

Sunday, July 27, 2014 - 09:05 p.m.

IMPEACHMENT moves initiated by Makabayan groups prompted more partisan talks about 2016. Of course, online rah-rah boys and girls rooting for either VP Jojo Binay or Sen. Bongbong Marcos increased their social media noise a few decibels higher.

Echaves: Elsewhere

Sunday, July 27, 2014 - 09:04 p.m.

WITH the K-12 implementation rendered inevitable, RP schools are knocking their heads prepping for the impact on their finances, faculty composition, assignment and retention, and curriculum realignments.

If anyone thinks that US and UK schools no longer worry about K-12 implementation, he needs to think again.

Sunday Essay: Let’s talk, not strike

Sunday, July 27, 2014 - 01:19 a.m.

THERE was no transpo strike last Monday when the Cebu South Mini Bus, the National Confederation of Transportworkers' Union and the Cebu Integrated Transport Service Cooperative agreed to discuss the problems with the operators and the government.

Cockpit blinders

Sunday, July 27, 2014 - 01:18 a.m.

THEY were watching it as they’d watch a cockfight, interesting but not something that’d change their lives,” sociologist. John Carroll, SJ recalls thinking on the eve of People Power 1. At a barricade behind Camp Aguinaldo, “residents of the poor neighborhood drifted into the streets, waiting to see what’d happen.”

Join us or stay back, a friend pleaded. They’d retreat, then drift into the road again, “The crowds at Edsa were mainly middle-class. The urban poor did not see the ongoing conflict as having anything to do with them.”

Capital punishment

Sunday, July 27, 2014 - 01:17 a.m.

I THINK there was a reason capital punishments were often deliberately painful. The threat of crucifixion, burning, dismemberment, sawing or disembowelment, to name a few historical examples, would have scared the bejesus out of our ancestors from committing a crime.

In some countries today, a convicted murderer can still lose his head on the chopping board and a convicted adulterer can be stoned to death (and I don’t mean smoking pot).

Fly safe

Sunday, July 27, 2014 - 01:16 a.m.

FLYING has never seemed more dangerous than today.

On March 8 of this year, Malaysian Airlines MH 370 carrying 239 people onboard vanished from the face of the Earth en route to Beijing from Kuala Lumpur. It is remarkably odd how a Boeing 777, the world’s largest twin jet, can fall off the grid without a trace when in this day and age, cookies can track our browsing histories and stalk our passions and proclivities online.

Three senators next?

Sunday, July 27, 2014 - 01:15 a.m.

THERE is no more special treatment for Janet Lim Napoles.

The woman who is accused of amassing billions of pesos from pork barrel funds has been ordered transferred from police custody in Fort Sto. Domingo in Sta. Rosa, Laguna to that of the Bureau of Jail Management and Penology (BJMP) in the Camp Bagong Diwa jail in Taguig City.

Land of readaloud

Sunday, July 27, 2014 - 01:13 a.m.

ON MORNING trips, the Vehicle-for-hire takes me past a row of shanties. The slow-moving traffic affords time for watching people.

While mornings may find adults at their busiest, children are no less engaged in their enterprise. Naked, a tot scooped water from a plastic basin, which she sometimes poured on her head and sometimes sipped. While its mother read a paper beside a roadside stall displaying vegetables, a baby held on to the tail of a yowling cat.

Editorial: Napoles’s transfer

Friday, July 25, 2014 - 10:34 p.m.

THE Sandiganbayan is starting to correct a questionable setup as it hears the plunder case against Sens. Juan Ponce Enrile, Jose “Jinggoy” Estrada and Ramon “Bong” Revilla Jr. and the other respondents that include Janet Lim-Napoles and lawyer Jessica Lucila “Gigi” Reyes.

Libre: Missile attack

Friday, July 25, 2014 - 10:34 p.m.

IN 1959, the Americans got themselves involved in the Vietnam War that later ended with them being shamed by the barefooted and low-key Vietcongs that occupied Saigon in 1975 to create the present-day Vietnam. The Russians, meanwhile, tasted its own defeat in Afghanistan in 1989 after ten years of fighting there.

Wenceslao: Binay’s chances

Friday, July 25, 2014 - 10:32 p.m.

IF THE presidential elections were held today, Vice President Jejomar Binay would be the runaway winner. That’s what the results of a Pulse Asia survey conducted from June 24, 2014 to July 2, 2014 show. Of the 1,200 respondents, 41 percent preferred Binay.

Nalzaro: A senior citizen’s complaint

Friday, July 25, 2014 - 10:31 p.m.

DR. BILLY JACA, one of Cebu's known eye specialists, is contemplating on filing a complaint against an uptown pharmacy before the Office of the Senior Citizens Association (Osca) at City Hall.

Barrita: Killing doctors

Friday, July 25, 2014 - 10:30 p.m.

A 71-year-old wheelchair-bound patient shot dead his doctor inside a clinic in a private hospital in Cebu City before shooting himself in the head Thursday morning.

Dr. Cris Cecil Chan Abbu, 56, an orthopedic surgeon, was shot in the chest and arm by Wilfred Sabonsolin, a former seaman he had been treating for spinal problems.

Seares: Noise over DAP: how much of it is set off by propaganda?

Friday, July 25, 2014 - 10:30 p.m.

“Hindi ko nga maunawaan bakit napakaingay sa labas (I cannot understand why it’s so noisy outside).”

-- Sen. Antonio Trillanes, who found it “amazing” that the “noise” over the DAP issue was overwhelming, suggesting that critics have better communications than government

Carvajal: Radiant again

Friday, July 25, 2014 - 10:29 p.m.

MY HOME town Barili is aptly described as “radiance from the past.” Indeed, it was radiant as a most progressive and prosperous Southern capital of Cebu governed by illustrious forward-looking leaders. The faith of Barilenos and their devotion to Sta. Ana also shone brightly over all the west coast towns south of Barili. This comprised Parroquia de Santa Ana when it was first established in July 26, 1614.

Editorial: Sobering up on those trees

Thursday, July 24, 2014 - 10:47 p.m.

THERE is one thing missing as attention of officials of the Department of Environment and Natural Resources (DENR) 7, the Department of Public Works and Highways (DPWH) 7 and the local government units (LGUs) of Naga, San Fernando and Carcar is focused on those “century-old” trees that line the portion of the highway in that part of south Cebu.

Roperos: Helping hand

Thursday, July 24, 2014 - 10:42 p.m.

IT DOES seem that the world never runs out of good people, as what Sun.Star Cebu told us in its issue yesterday. There was an item that called my attention about a police officer who lent assistance to a senior citizen.

Being a senior citizen myself, I was taken by the act. But of course, by the same token and as we all know, the world is also having its equal share of the sad side of things in our daily existence.

Wenceslao: Clavel’s ‘fall’

Thursday, July 24, 2014 - 10:42 p.m.

CLAVEL Asas-Martinez was once a shining star in Cebu politics or, to be precise, one of the Cebuanos who was recognizable in the House of Representatives when she became its member from 1998 to 2007. Among her achievements was her selection as one of the House prosecutors in the impeachment trial of former president Joseph Estrada in 2000-2001.

Malilong: Abad and the propaganda war

Thursday, July 24, 2014 - 10:41 p.m.

BUDGET Secretary Butch Abad got a little help from his friends at the Senate hearing on the controversial Development Acceleration Program (DAP) yesterday.

Seares: Deflecting overprice: Binay’s t-shirts defense

Thursday, July 24, 2014 - 10:40 p.m.

THE building is priced at P1.56 billion but don't say it's expensive.

Vice President Jojo Binay and his son Makati Mayor Junjun, charged with plunder over a parking facility called City Hall 2, don't like voters to equate "costly" with "overpriced."

Libre: Ax-cepted

Thursday, July 24, 2014 - 10:38 p.m.

CEBU City’s inmates in dire straits.

The prison, like the prisoners, requires rehabilitation.

FOREX: US$ 1.00 = PhP 43.334

Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas

Philippine Lotto Results

Lotto Game Combinations
Mega Lotto 6/4518-42-33-23-13-26
EZ2 Lotto 11AM02-24
EZ2 Lotto 4PM15-15
EZ2 Lotto 9PM08-04
Swertres Lotto 9PM1-3-4

Today's front page

Sun.Star Cebu's front page for July 29, 2014

Other front pages

Sun.Star Jobs
  • Philippine Polls
  • Filipino Abroad
  • goodearth
  • Pnoy
  • Festivals
  • Habemus Papam
  • Pacman blog
  • Technology
  • ePaper
  • Obituary
  • Sun.Star Zup!
  • tell it to sunstar
  • Calamity Report
  • Sunstar Multimedia
  • SunStar Celebrity
  • Sinulog