Lim: Divorce next?

Sunday, December 23, 2012 - 12:24 a.m.

I KNOW. It irks the Church immensely. But talk of a divorce law being passed in our country has been here for more than a decade too. I know. That’s what the bishops have been saying all along. After the Reproductive Health bill, the Divorce bill will come next.

After Malta legalized divorce last year, outside of the Vatican, the Philippines remains the only country without a divorce law. The bishops think this is something we should wear as a badge of honor. But what honor is there in NOT having a divorce law yet having adultery as a socially acceptable practice in our country?

Tabada: Contesting birth

Sunday, December 23, 2012 - 12:24 a.m.

THE BELEN is new, my friend Nena told me when we saw each other before a late morning mass at Redemptorist Church.

I don’t hear mass regularly. When I do, I like the experience. Like anything that’s not part of routine, I seek out and am always never disappointed by the occasion.

Editorial: The real battleground

Saturday, December 22, 2012 - 12:14 a.m.

THE worst thing to happen to an employee of a local government unit (LGU) is when he or she is caught between two warring political forces. This is what is happening to employees of the Provincial Government and their department heads who are caught in a tug-of-war between the camps of suspended Gov. Gwendolyn Garcia and acting governor Agnes Magpale.

Libre: What you can do

Saturday, December 22, 2012 - 12:13 a.m.

THERE much grief in the world as Christmas draws nearer.

On Dec. 14, 2012, a troubled 20-year-old youth shot his mother in their home and killed 20 children and six adults in Sandy Hook Elementary School, Newtown, Connecticut. On the same day in the village of Chengping in Henan, China, a 36-year-old man stabbed an elderly woman and 22 children before security guards stopped him.

Wenceslao: One step backward

Saturday, December 22, 2012 - 12:12 a.m.

HOW long can Gov. Gwendolyn Garcia hold her ground with the kind of offensive being waged by Malacañang against her? If she cannot find legal remedy fast, I say not very long. It is one reality that I am sure she will have to accept, if ever.

It is not difficult to see the direction Malacañang is headed. The actions of the Police Regional Office (PRO) 7, starting from the day President Noynoy Aquino issued the suspension order against her, is one giveaway. The recent statements of the National Government's p.r. machinery are another. Malacañang is already using all its forces and resources against the governor.

Barrita: Cebu’s two governors

Saturday, December 22, 2012 - 12:11 a.m.

CEBU now has two governors--Gov. Gwen Garcia, who resents being called the “suspended governor,” and Agnes Magpale, who has been sworn in as acting governor.

Malacanang’s suspension of Gov. Garcia for alleged abuse of authority has thrown Capitol politics in turmoil.

Carvajal: Above all

Saturday, December 22, 2012 - 12:10 a.m.

INSTEAD of coming up with arguments to disprove Fr. Ramon Echica’s statements, a columnist (not of Sun.Star) attacked the person of the priest instead. That is probably why the good priest-theologian has not bothered with a defense, finding it intellectually futile to argue against personal attacks.

Editorial: Mar Roxas’s defense

Friday, December 21, 2012 - 12:16 a.m.

ALLEGATION that politics is behind Malacañang’s order to suspend Gov. Gwendolyn Garcia for six months starting last Wednesday must have been grating to the ears of Department of Interior and Local Government (DILG) Secretary Mar Roxas that he decided to use a dead man to defend the suspension order.

Roperos: Suspension, politics

Friday, December 21, 2012 - 12:16 a.m.

WHAT Gov. Gwen Garcia did not expect to happen, did happen, which to me appears quite ironic and unfortunate. I believe that she did not expect at all to have the case filed against her by the late vice governor Greg Sanchez to be dug up and made the basis for her current suspension as Cebu governor.

Wenceslao: There goes the ‘Daang Matuwid’ slogan

Friday, December 21, 2012 - 12:15 a.m.

I HEARD about the “suspension plan” months ago when things were politically nebulous.

Malilong: Oppressed, oppressors

Friday, December 21, 2012 - 12:14 a.m.

The Capitol is only a two-minute walk away from our law office. It used to be a struggle crossing the street from our side of Escario; now that the areas surrounding the seat of the provincial government are crawling with policemen, it is a piece of cake.

Seares: Of course, it was a power grab

Friday, December 21, 2012 - 12:13 a.m.

WHEN Cebu Vice Gov. Agnes Magpale assumed Wednesday as governor after President Aquino suspended Gov. Gwen Garcia for six months, was it a power grab as the governor called it?

Of course, it was.

Libre: More trouble

Friday, December 21, 2012 - 12:13 a.m.

FIRE chief to face trial for graft.

Fire chief on the hot seat.

Speak out: Columnists, Church

Friday, December 21, 2012 - 12:12 a.m.

THANKS and praises to you for keeping in your force, particularly in your Opinion section, these handful of brave and independent-minded columnists that, to me, are heralds and angels of today’s awareness, especially on spiritual matters.

Foremost, is Orlando P. Carvajal for his potshots on supposedly sacrosanct Church matters, to cite among others, his “New or Retro, Please Explain” and lately “Galileo II.” Next is Melanie Lim on her “Religiosity,” which struck me with its irrefutable truth and relevance.

Editorial: Is Rama next?

Thursday, December 20, 2012 - 12:28 a.m.

RUMORS on the plan to suspend Gov. Gwendolyn Garcia this month, or going into the campaign period for the 2013 polls, actually began to float months before her suspension order was delivered yesterday.

Roperos: Social progress

Thursday, December 20, 2012 - 12:27 a.m.

HEART-WARMING is the apt word to use to describe what many felt about the three-column story that came out on the second page of this daily. It may seem to many that I am promoting this daily since many of the subjects I write about are based on stories reported here. But this is the daily available to me every day, and its subjects are generally about life and events that capture my interest.

So: Politics of Gwen’s suspension

Thursday, December 20, 2012 - 12:26 a.m.

NO matter how Malacañang explains it, the issuance of the suspension order at this time, with elections only five months away and the political alliance of the gubernatorial tandem of Junjun Davide and Agnes with the Liberal Party, bears a political agenda.

Malilong: Two Cebu governors

Thursday, December 20, 2012 - 12:25 a.m.

THE rumor started circulating Monday evening: President Aquino has ordered the suspension of Gov. Gwendolyn Garcia for usurpation of authority based on the complaint of the late Vice Gov. Greg Sanchez. Early Tuesday morning, sources close to the governor admitted that they, too, heard the report. That same day, I spoke to Garcia, who agreed to issue a statement on the issue. She changed her mind later, however, upon the advice of her lawyers.

Seares: PNoy’s married life: coming soon?

Thursday, December 20, 2012 - 12:24 a.m.

PRESIDENT Noynoy Aquino has been a teaser about his love life.

When the press cajoles him to tell how he's taming his hormones, which at 52 must still rage, he clams up, pleading privacy.

Espinoza: Governor’s suspension

Thursday, December 20, 2012 - 12:23 a.m.

AS I WAS writing this piece Tuesday evening, the news that Vice Gov. Agnes Magpale was to take her oath yesterday morning as acting governor and that the Department of Interior and Local Government (DILG) was to implement the suspension order on Gov. Gwen Garcia went viral.

Editorial: RH depends on local action

Wednesday, December 19, 2012 - 12:21 a.m.

FOR dedicated campaigners against the reproductive health (RH) bill, the fight in Congress and Malacañang is all over but the signing. Preparations have shifted to the challenge that will probably be raised before the Supreme Court (SC).

Roperos: A Yule for trees

Wednesday, December 19, 2012 - 12:19 a.m.

THERE was the five-column banner head story from the Department of Environment and Natural Resources 7 (DENR 7) on the fourth page of this daily that admonished our tree-using people to be forewarned about making the grown greens in our parks, plazas, highways as basic promotional tools. The warning was not only good for the Yule holidays, but also for the advent of the political campaign season that would need convenient places to put up “campaign materials or advertisement on trees” all over the nation.

Wenceslao: Much fuss over a molehill

Wednesday, December 19, 2012 - 12:18 a.m.

MY STAND on the reproductive health (RH) bill has always been ambivalent. That’s why I am guarded in my reaction to its passage the other day both in the Senate and the House of Representatives. I didn’t find myself clapping my hands when the vote was announced in both chambers (13-8 in the Senate and 133-79 in the House).

Nalzaro: Is Gwen’s suspension coming?

Wednesday, December 19, 2012 - 12:16 a.m.

AS I was writing this column late yesterday afternoon, supporters of Gov. Gwen Garcia who came from all over the province started to gather at the Capitol building to hold a vigil and a mass. The main entrance to the Capitol grounds near the flagpole was barricaded by iron grills and the Capitol’s blue guards were placed on “red alert” status. What caused the panic?

Barrita: Slaughter of innocents

Wednesday, December 19, 2012 - 12:16 a.m.

A 20-YEAR-OLD madman armed with two semi-automatic pistols and an assault rifle blasted his way into the Sandy Hook Elementary School in Newtown, Connecticut in a shooting spree that killed 26 people, including 20 innocent children.

Tell it to Sunstar: Terminated projects

Wednesday, December 19, 2012 - 12:15 a.m.

(This refers to the article that appeared on Sun.Star Cebu last Dec. 16, 2012 with the title “P150M in projects for Cebu deferred.”)

Editorial: Church beyond the RH bill

Monday, December 17, 2012 - 11:39 p.m.

THE Catholic Church’s fight against the reproductive health (RH) bill is an educational, though bruising, one and it is a struggle that should not end even if Congress passes and President Noynoy Aquino signs it into law. That is if the Catholic Church hierarchy is sincere in its belief that the measure puts to risk the “moral fiber” of the nation.

Roperos: Faith and politics

Monday, December 17, 2012 - 11:38 p.m.

THOSE of us who, as a matter of professional attitude, stand at the center of the on-going political tussle over the so-called reproductive health (RH) bill have perforce to assume a measure of detachment, and view the overall condition with certain objectivity.

Cabaero: Reporting typhoon deaths

Monday, December 17, 2012 - 11:37 p.m.

THE delays in reporting the number of people killed by typhoon Pablo pointed to how being far from the nation’s capital becomes more pronounced in a calamity.

Access to emergency response is relative to how fast information could reach decision makers who needed data to effectively address competing priorities in an emergency situation such as a super typhoon.

Malilong: Abellanosa should welcome case

Monday, December 17, 2012 - 11:37 p.m.

THERE is very little doubt that the filing of charges against Cebu City Councilor Rodrigo “Bebot” Abellanosa for his role in the city’s scholarship program is tainted with politics. Abellanosa is the BOPK candidate for congressman in the south district.

The complainant is a supporter of Team Rama which has fielded former Transportation Undersecretary Aristotle “Totol” Batuhan to challenge Abellanosa.

FOREX: US$ 1.00 = PhP 43.556

Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas

Philippine Lotto Results

Gamesort iconCombinations
Megalotto 6/4519-35-20-41-44-30
4Digit7-4-5-7
Swertres Lotto 11AM6-6-6
Swertres Lotto 4PM1-1-6
Swertres Lotto 9PM8-8-1
More results

Today's front page

Sun.Star Cebu front page for September 02, 2014

Other front pages

Sun.Star Jobs
  • SunStar Celebrity
  • Obituary
  • Philippine Polls
  • tell it to sunstar
  • Technology
  • Pacman blog
  • Filipino Abroad
  • Sun.Star Zup!
  • goodearth
  • Festivals
  • Habemus Papam
  • Pnoy
  • Calamity Report
  • Sinulog
  • Sunstar Multimedia
  • ePaper