Gaite rules Alta Vista’s Directors Cup | SunStar

Gaite rules Alta Vista’s Directors Cup

Time to read
1 minute
Read so far

Gaite rules Alta Vista’s Directors Cup

Wednesday, November 02, 2016

Winner. Charlie Gaite (center) topped Class A of last weekend’s Alta Vista Directors’ Cup. He is flanked by (from left) golf director Ramon Sebastian, Lino Dagus, 2nd runner-up Tyler Po, 1st runner-up Masahisa Kawakami, Bobby Barria, and Michael Lim. (Contributed Foto)

AFTER a few months of forced hiatus due to a rotator cuff injury, Charlie Gaite’s return to competition came with a resonating drum roll as he bagged the top honors for the premiere handicap category of the Directors’ Cup played over the weekend at the par-72 Alta Vista Golf and Country Club.

Gaite won the Class A plum with a total of 40 points in the Modified Stableford Scoring System.

First runner-up was Masahisa Kawakami with 39 points edging Tyler Po, Weiwei Gao, and Enrico Solon in the countback. Po eventually bagged the second runner-up honors after pulling past Gao in their tie break.

Roy Damole ruled class B with a score of three-under-par 39 points. First runner-up was Pete del Rosario with even-par 36 while second runner-up was Jason Yu with 35 edging Leo Saberon and Glenn Siao in the countback.

Brucedy Chan made the most out of his once-in-a-blue moon participation in club tournaments as he topped Class C with a score of 40 points edging Edwin Go Lim in the countback. Lim settled for the first runner-up honors while second runner-up was Dondon Arquiza with 36 points.

The Seniors’ Division title went to the inspired Ed Eroy, who fired a tournament-best 10-under-par 46 points. First runner-up was Ernie Uy with 41, while club treasurer and golf director Ramon Sebastian finished as second runner-up with 40 points beating Arnel Go in the countback.

The Super Seniors’ Division title went to David Villono with 38 points while runner-up honors went to Jack Lee.

Grace Quintanilla took the Ladies Division title with 37 points, edging Joan Hortelano, who settled for the runner-up honors, in the countback.

Ted Almario once again ruled the Guest Division with 42 points, beating Kang Sang Uk in the countback. Kang settled for the runner-up honors. PR

Published in the Sun.Star Cebu newspaper on November 03, 2016.

Latest issues of SunStar Cebu also available on your mobile phones, laptops, and tablets. Subscribe to our digital editions at and get a free seven-day trial.

View Comments