Gruppo Habagat bags gold in Bohol | SunStar

Gruppo Habagat bags gold in Bohol

Time to read
less than
1 minute
Read so far

Gruppo Habagat bags gold in Bohol

Monday, July 17, 2017

Champions. The Gruppo Habagat women’s team won the women’s title in a photo finish against the Dauis Wild Dragons. (Contributed Foto)

THE Gruppo Habagat Dragonboat Team walked away with a gold medal after topping the women’s short boat race in the Sandugo Dragonboat Festival 2017 at the Miramar Wharf in Dauis, Bohol last Sunday.

The female paddlers of Gruppo Habagat clocked 1 minute and 39.37 seconds in the final heat to beat home team Dauis Wild Dragons, who timed 1:39.60.

The Dragons settled for second place, Team Lions nabbed third place in 1:43.87 and BSU Tacloban got fourth place in 1:44.73.

The Habagat female paddlers are lawyer Haide Acuña, Jade Abellana, Killiaen Ferrer, Cora Quiamco, Rem Buenacosa, Nikki Cuña, Joy Hortizano, Michelle Malicay, Jean Dalumpines, Kareen Benavides, Grace Ferrer and Arianne Montillano.

Gruppo Habagat added a silver medal to its haul as it finished second in the standard mixed race after clocking 1:23.81. Dauis Wild Dragons won the title in 1:23.45, while BSU Tacloban came in 1:24.84 for third place.

The rest of Gruppo Habagat’s paddlers who joined the standard mixed were Arnold Balais, Eric Flores, Jonathan Villaflor, Zaldy Delgado, Alberto Saavedra, LJ Mendez, Francis Rosos, Dennis Tirado, Jey Pe Campania, Niño Michael Baring, Damian Villaruz, Argy Bermejo, Sherman Murcia, Bruce Luceño, Francis Rosos, Poi Tan, Bordz Ybañez Jr. and Kristian Donn Engracial.

The Gruppo Habagat will compete next in the Kagayhaan Gold Cup 2017 next month in Cagayan de Oro City. (RSC)

Published in the SunStar Cebu newspaper on July 18, 2017.

Latest issues of SunStar Cebu also available on your mobile phones, laptops, and tablets. Subscribe to our digital editions at and get a free seven-day trial.

View Comments