2014 ICTSI Philippine Golf Tour

-A A +A

Friday, December 13, 2013

FIRTS, please note that ‘PGT’ means Philippine Golf Tour. ‘OOM’ means Order of Merit. ‘ICTSI’ stands for International Container Terminal Services, Inc., which is the main sponsor of the PGT. ‘FYI’ means ‘for your info’. ‘BTW’ means ‘by the way’. But for the senior citizens, ‘BTW’ means ‘Bring the wheelchair’.

Other abbreviations for the elderly: ‘LOL’ – living on Lipitor. ‘WTF’ – what’s today’s fish? ‘WTF’ – wet the furniture. ‘OMG’ – oy, my grandchildren! ‘IMHO’ – is my hearing aid on?’ ‘FWIW’ – forgot where I was. ‘TTYL’ – talk to you louder.

The 2013 ICTSI Philippine Golf Tour is over, and for the second year in a row, Tony Lascuña holds the No. 1 spot in the PGT Order of Merit. Once again, congratulations Unyot!

The question now is—who are players qualified to join next year’s golf circuit?

I will try to explain as simple as I can so that the non-golfers will be able to comprehend as well.

Correct me if I am wrong, okay. As far as I know, the players who finished in the top 40 of this year’s PGT Order of Merit are safe, and will continue to play in the Philippine golf circuit next year. I will mention their names later.

Aside from the top 40, who else are eligible to play next year?

The ones who are not in the top 40 will have to go through the PGT Qualifying School (Q-School). The Q-School 72-hole tournament was held last Dec. 3-6, 2013 at Eagle Ridge. The top 40 players of this tournament will also be eligible for next year’s PGT. I will mention their names later.

So far, next year’s tour has 80 players. But, aside from these players, the PGT also has foreign participants. The Q-School tournament for the foreign players is set on January 13-17, 2014 at Eagle Ridge. Sorry but I am not sure how many foreign players they will get. As far as I know, only the top 20 will be qualified. But, a foreign player who is already in the OOM top 40 need not qualify anymore this coming January, obviously.

Here are the top 40 players of this year’s Order of Merit (according to ranking): Tony Lascuna, Miguel Tabuena, Elmer Salvador, Jay Bayron, Angelo Que, Cassius Casas, Carl Santos-Ocampo, Mhark Fernando, Jhonnel Ababa, Michael Bibat, Frankie Minoza, Mars Pucay, Edward Reyes, Jessie Balasabas, Charles Hong, Gerald Rosales, Elmer Saban, Rufino Bayron, Benjie Magada, Richard Sinfuego, Guido Van Der Valk, Marvin Dumandan, Cyde Mondilla, Orlan Sumcad, Rey Pagunsan, Roberto Bernis, Jr., Tomokazu Yoshinaga, Anthony Fernando, Randy Garalde, Ferdie Aunzo, Zanieboy Gialon, Robert Pactolerin, Micah Shin, James Ryan Lam, Dante Becierra, Rolando Marabe, Christopher Delos Santos, Jomar Pepito, Johvanie Abano, and Richard Abaring.

Here are the top 40 players of the PGT Q-School: Joey Huerva, Jun Rates, Arnold Villacencio, Ramil Bisera, Cookie Lao’, Rico Depilo, John Keir Abdon (amateur), Rene Menor, Albin Engino, Magno Arancon (amateur), Keanu Jahns (amateur), Paul Echavez, Hanson So, Jr., Jan Coup Tambogon, Leonard Lofranco (amateur), Henry Bolano, Michel Ochoa, Kenneth Kano, Danny Zarate, Lawrence Celestino, Nilo Salahog, Dino Villanueva, Alfredo Repato, Jr., EJ Arcillas, Jimmy Bayron, Junro Mamaril, Reymon Jaraula, Mariano Reanturco, Carito Villaroman, Fredo Casiao, Anthony Victoria, Jesus Casas, Jr., Arnel Enema, Francis Morilla (amateur), Joseph Suarez, Joeleo Torrecampo, Antolin Fernando, Jet Mathay, Erwin Vinluan and Edgar Ababa. FYI, Edgar Ababa, Jordan Mamaril, Israel Bisera and Artemio Murakami were tied for 40th place, and Edgar Ababa won by countback, and so he gets the 40th slot.

One of the Q-School winners is Fredo Casiao. OMG, is this little Adan Casiao, my former caddy? He was a little boy then. I hope this is him. I am glad he made it too.

Published in the Sun.Star Davao newspaper on December 13, 2013.


DISCLAIMER: Sun.Star website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessary reflect the views of the Sun.Star management and its affiliates. Sun.Star reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules: Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent and respectful. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!
Holy Week 2014
Marginal Lives

FOREX: US$ 1.00 = PhP 44.487

Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas

Philippine Lotto Results

Gamesort iconCombinations
Swertres Lotto 11AM8-9-8
Swertres Lotto 4PM4-5-2
Swertres Lotto 9PM6-0-7
EZ2 Lotto 9PM04-02

Today's front page

Sun.Star Davao front page for April 21, 2014

Other front pages

Sun.Star Jobs
  • Festivals
  • Pacman blog
  • Sunstar Multimedia
  • SunStar Celebrity
  • Technology
  • Filipino Abroad
  • ePaper
  • goodearth
  • tell it to sunstar
  • Obituary
  • Sun.Star Zup!
  • Calamity Report
  • Philippine Polls
  • Habemus Papam
  • Pnoy
  • Sinulog