‘10,000 Hours’ wins big in 2013 MMFF

-A A +A

Friday, December 27, 2013

ACTION flick "10,000 Hours" proved to be a big winner during the 39th Metro Manila Film Festival (MMFF), as it bagged a total of 14 awards.

Held Friday evening at the Meralco Theater in Pasig City, the awards night recognizes the best performances and films in this year's festival.

Inspired by the life story of former senator Panfilo "Ping" Lacson, the film was named festival's Best Picture, while Robin Padilla and Bb. Joyce Bernal won the Best Actor and Best Director awards, respectively.

"10,000 Hours" also took home the Fernando Poe Jr. Memorial Award for Excellence and the coveted Gatpuno Antonio Villegas Cultural Award.

Meanwhile, Diamond Star Maricel Soriano was named Best Actress for "Girl, Boy, Bakla, Tomboy."

Directed by Wenn Deramas, the Star Cinema movie also won 2nd Best Picture and Most Gender Sensitive Award.

Vic Sotto starrer "My Little Bossings" was hailed third Best Picture and gave Aiza Seguerra her first Best Supporting Actress trophy.

10,000 Hours poster

Here's the complete list of winners in this year's MMFF:

Best Picture: "10,000 Hours"
2nd Best Picture: "Girl, Boy, Bakla, Tomboy"
3rd Best Picture: "My Little Bossings"
Best Director: Bb. Joyce Bernal ("10,000 Hours")
Best Actress: Maricel Soriano ("Girl, Boy, Bakla, Tomboy")
Best Actor: Robin Padilla ("10,000 Hours")
Best Supporting Actress: Aiza Seguerra ("My Little Bossing")
Best Supporting Actor: Pen Medina ("10,000 Hours")
Best Child Performer: Ryzza Mae Dizon ("My Little Bossings")
Best Screenplay: "10,000 Hours"
Best Original Story: "10,000 Hours"
Best Sound Engineer: Emmanuel Clemente ("10,000 Hours")
Best Musical Scorer: Teresa Barrozo ("10,000 Hours")
Best Theme Song: "My Little Bossings"
Best Make-up: "Pagpag"
Best Cinematography: "10,000 Hours"
Best Visual Effects: "10,000 Hours"
Best Production: "10,000 Hours"
Best Editing: "10,000 Hours"

New Wave category:
Best Picture: "Dukit"
Best Director: Armando Lao ("Dukit")
Best Actress: Agot Isidro ("Mga Anino ng Kahapon")
Best Actors: Wilfredo Layug, Bor Ocampo & Bambalito Lacap ("Dukit")
Short Film Best Picture: "Ang Paglisan"
Animation Jury Prize: "Ang Lalong ni Kulakong"
Best Animated Picture: "Kaleh and Mbaki"
Special Jury Prize: "Mga Anino ng Kahapon"

Kapamilya actor Daniel Padilla and ace comedienne Eugene Domingo were named Male and Female Stars of the Night, respectively.

The 39th MMFF Awards Night was hosted by KC Concepcion and Queen of All Media Kris Aquino. (Sunnex)


DISCLAIMER: Sun.Star website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessary reflect the views of the Sun.Star management and its affiliates. Sun.Star reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules: Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent and respectful. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!
Holy Week 2014

FOREX: US$ 1.00 = PhP 44.420

Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas

Philippine Lotto Results

Gamesort iconCombinations
Swertres Lotto 11AM8-9-8
Swertres Lotto 4PM4-5-2
Swertres Lotto 9PM6-0-7
EZ2 Lotto 9PM04-02

Sun.Star Jobs
  • Obituary
  • Sinulog
  • ePaper
  • goodearth
  • Pnoy
  • tell it to sunstar
  • Pacman blog
  • Habemus Papam
  • Filipino Abroad
  • SunStar Celebrity
  • Philippine Polls
  • Sunstar Multimedia
  • Technology
  • Calamity Report
  • Sun.Star Zup!
  • Festivals