38 groups disqualified from party-list race

-A A +A

Wednesday, November 28, 2012

IN WHAT could be the biggest batch of purging, the Commission on Elections (Comelec) announced Wednesday the disqualification of 38 party-list groups from participating in the May 2013 polls.

Comelec Chairman Sixto Brillantes said the commission en banc disqualified two existing groups with cancelled accreditation and 36 new applicants denied of getting accreditations.

The two existing groups are Butil Farmers Party (BUTIL) party-list, which has an incumbent congressman in Agapito Guanlao, and Binhi or the Binhi-Partido ng mga Magsasaka para sa mga Magsasaka.


On the other hand, denied accreditation were 1 Ang Bagong Alyansang Tagapagtaguyod ng Adhikaing Sambayanan (1 Ang Batas), 1-A Health, 1-Aid Dalaw, Inc., Aurora Integrated Multipurpose Cooperative (1-Aimcoop), 1-Akong Minimum Wage Earner (1-Akong Minimumwager), 1-APTO, 1 KOOP Mindanao, The Philippine Association of GSIS, SSS and Allied Members Inc. (1 Pagasa), 1 Team for Education Advancement and Change Inc. (1 Teach) and Magdiwang Maharlikang Mamamayan Movement (4M).

Other groups that also got the latest Comelec boot were the Pahiyom Pobre'ng Pamilyang Pinoy Inc. (4P’s), Aviation Advancement Advocates Inc. (AAA), Ang Ating Damayan Citzens Alliance (AAD), Apila ng Bayan Inc. (ABI), Aktibong Bayang Pilipino Inc. (ABP), Alliance for Concerned Entrepreneurs For Food Security Inc. (Aces), ACTS-OFW, Ako Bisaya Political Party (Ako Bisaya), Akopa and ANFBI.

Also barred from joining were Advocates for Penology Enhancement and Legal Assistance (Apela), Agrarian Reform Beneficiaries Association Inc. (ARBA Inc.), Adult School Drop-Out Party Lists (ASD), Alyansa ng mga Tsuper at Transport Operators ng Mindanao Inc. (Attom), Bravo for Justice Inc. (Bravo), BRP-SSS, Hanapbuhay Para sa Pinoy Inc. (Happi), Mindanao Alliance for Reforms (MAR), Movement of Women for Change and Reform (Melchora), Ang Bagong Noypi Movement Inc. (Noypi), Pinoy Aasenso Ka (PAK), Partido Manggagawa Coalition (PM Coalition), PPP, Samahan ng mga Personero sa Aduana (SPA), WACCAA and WWW.FOREXDEALERS.COMCorp.

According to Brillantes, the batch of 38 is the biggest they have released so far, and could be one of the last ones.

"This is the last batch, as far as I know, for the cancelled and new applicants," said Brillantes.

On the other hand, the poll chief said those that shall be granted could be released Thursday. "We are finalizing the listing of those that will be granted," said Brillantes.

With the 38, there are now 137 disqualified party-list groups, 49 of which have been cancelled of their accreditation and the remaining 88 denied of being registered. (HDT/Sunnex)

Local news

DISCLAIMER: Sun.Star website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessary reflect the views of the Sun.Star management and its affiliates. Sun.Star reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules: Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent and respectful. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!
Sun.Star Jobs
  • Obituary
  • Filipino Abroad
  • Sunstar Multimedia
  • ePaper
  • Calamity Report
  • goodearth
  • Sinulog
  • Habemus Papam
  • Technology
  • Sun.Star Zup!
  • Pnoy
  • SunStar Celebrity
  • tell it to sunstar
  • Pacman blog
  • Festivals
  • Philippine Polls