College hoops' best in 2013 feted

-A A +A

Thursday, December 19, 2013

COACHES and players who performed well in this season’s University Athletic Association of the Philippines (UAAP) and National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) men’s basketball tournament were recently feted by scribes covering the collegiate sports beat.

Topping the list of awardees were coaches Juno Sauler of De La Salle University and Boyet Fernandez of San Beda College for steering their respective squads to the championship right on their first year.

Sauler, who took over the Green Archers bench three weeks before the season opener last June, brought back the title for La Salle after six years.

The Archers swept the second round of eliminations, toppled Far Eastern University in the Final Four and won the championship over University of Santo Tomas in three games.

Fernandez, on the other hand, survived a pulsating winner-take-all Game 3 against back-to-back challenger Letran College to give the Red Lions their fourth consecutive crown. Overall, San Beda notched 18 titles in the 89-year-history of the NCAA, the country’s oldest collegiate league.

Key members and coaches of the UAAP and NCAA champion squads receive trophies from the press for their outstanding performances during the basketball season. La Salle’s Jeron Teng bags the Smart Player of the Year award (second from left). (Contributed photo)

Jeron Teng was named Smart Player of the Year by the UAAP-NCAA Press Corps for displaying brilliance, class and sportsmanship throughout the season, despite battling older brother Jeric in the UAAP finals.

“[Jeron] is there to motivate his teammates. I also like his mentality in the end game where he takes it hard to the basket,” said Sauler.

Teng, who has turned into a poster boy of collegiate basketball, received the recognition over four other members of the Mythical Five. They are Far Eastern University's Terrence Romeo, Letran's Raymond Almazan, San Beda's Ola Adeogun and National University's Bobby Ray Parks.

Jeric and FEU's RR Garcia were given the Super Senior award, an honor given to players who excelled during their final year of eligibility.

Special citations also went to some members of champion squads, namely, Arnold Van Opstal and Art dela Cruz (Pivotal Player), Jason Perkins and Baser Amer (Impact Player) and Rome dela Rosa (Super Senior). (Sunnex)


DISCLAIMER: Sun.Star website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessary reflect the views of the Sun.Star management and its affiliates. Sun.Star reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules: Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent and respectful. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!
2013 Bar results out

FOREX: US$ 1.00 = PhP 44.420

Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas

Philippine Lotto Results

Gamesort iconCombinations
Swertres Lotto 11AM8-9-8
Swertres Lotto 4PM4-5-2
Swertres Lotto 9PM6-0-7
EZ2 Lotto 9PM04-02

Sun.Star Jobs
  • Philippine Polls
  • Sinulog
  • Technology
  • Pacman blog
  • ePaper
  • Calamity Report
  • Sun.Star Zup!
  • SunStar Celebrity
  • Sunstar Multimedia
  • Pnoy
  • goodearth
  • Festivals
  • Filipino Abroad
  • tell it to sunstar
  • Habemus Papam
  • Obituary