Capitol fetes Kapampangans in media

-A A +A

Monday, December 2, 2013

CITY OF SAN FERNANDO -- The Provincial Government led by Governor Lilia Pineda on Monday honored 11 seasoned Kapampangan media practitioners who have brought honor to Pampanga and continue to contribute to serve in their various fields.

In simple but touching and momentous rites at Benigno Aquino Hall, Pineda feted and paid tribute to Pampanga and Manila-based media veterans Numertano Dayrit, Ramiro Mercado, Democrito Caparas, Fred Dela Rosa, Alfredo Roxas, Cris Icban, Jr., Jake Espino, Willie Capulong, Abner San Pedro, Rizal Policarpio, Gregorio Sangil, Lino Sanchez, Jr., Max Sangil, Federico Pascual, Felix Garcia and Ed Aguilar.

"Hindi kayo dapat makalimutan at hindi dapat mawala ang mga pangalan ninyo sa larangan ng media. You have and continue to fight for the rights of people not only here in the province but the country as well," said the governor in conferring the "galal" or awards.

She shared that Capitol and Kapampangans as a whole, love media practitioners because of their commitment and capability to institute change and move even high officials for reforms.

"Kaluguran na kayu ning probinsiya because you have the brave heart of a true Kapampangan. For many years I personally have been witness to how Kapampangans in media helped the province not only in times of disasters and calamities but in occasions when the province is being put in bad light. Sa mga panahong kagaya noon, kumikilos ang media at ipinaglalaban ang Pampanga," noted Governor Pineda.

She added that the citations, the first ever known in the history of Pampanga, will serve as an inspiration to younger media practitioners and emulate the successful veterans.

"We hope that this simple award will inspire others, that once upon a time the provincial government is one with you in continuing and upholding your legacy to Kapampangans. We thank you very much," said the governor.

In response, the Kapampangans in media vowed to support the Provincial Government in its endeavors and cherish the historic moments.

"It is not about age but of speaking the truth and service. Trust us na kapanalig at kabalikat kami ng Pampanga," they said.

Board Members Rosve Henson, Nestor Tolentino, Mike Tapang, Crisostomo Garbo, Ricardo Yabut and Cherry Manalo also thanked the media for their support.

Published in the Sun.Star Pampanga newspaper on December 03, 2013.

Local news

DISCLAIMER: Sun.Star website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessary reflect the views of the Sun.Star management and its affiliates. Sun.Star reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules: Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent and respectful. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!
2013 Bar results out

FOREX: US$ 1.00 = PhP 44.420

Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas

Philippine Lotto Results

Gamesort iconCombinations
Swertres Lotto 11AM8-9-8
Swertres Lotto 4PM4-5-2
Swertres Lotto 9PM6-0-7
EZ2 Lotto 9PM04-02

Today's front page

Sun.Star Pampanga front page for April 17, 2014

Other front pages

Sun.Star Jobs
  • Sinulog
  • ePaper
  • goodearth
  • Philippine Polls
  • Festivals
  • Sunstar Multimedia
  • Habemus Papam
  • SunStar Celebrity
  • Technology
  • Pnoy
  • Obituary
  • Sun.Star Zup!
  • Calamity Report
  • tell it to sunstar
  • Pacman blog
  • Filipino Abroad