Local PNP marks 19th year

-A A +A

Tuesday, February 16, 2010

SAN FERNANDO CITY, La Union -- The Police Regional Office 1 (PRO1) Monday celebrated the 19th anniversary of the Philippine National Police (PNP) through the traditional giving of recognition to police personnel and police units which worked well the past year.

The celebration at the regional headquarters here was attended by PNP Chief Jesus Verzosa. He was guest of honor and speaker.

For updates from around the country, follow Sun.Star on Twitter


This year's theme is Mamamayan at Kapulisan: Bayanihang Pangkatahimikan at Pangkaayusan.

“This year’s awardees are led by Police Superintendent Sterling Raymund Blanco, Laoag City police chief, who is the very first recipient of the Lead PNP Award (national level and regional level), a brainchild of the PNP Chief, which objective is to develop transformational leaders,” said PRO1 Director Constante Azares.

“We are now facing another challenge to our mettle as law enforcers – the upcoming May 2010 elections. Let us continue working as one to ensure that the elections shall be honest, orderly and peaceful,” Verzosa said as he also congratulated all the awardees.

He stressed the need to maintain strong working relations between the police and the community.

Aside from Blanco, the other individual awardees are former Lingayen Police Chief Harris Fama (Lead PNP 1st runner-up-regional level); San Fernando City Police Chief Pedro Obaldo (Lead PNP 2nd runner-up-regional level); and Juanita Orduña (Non-Uniformed Personnel of the Year).

Under the Model Transformation Program, the awardees are: La Union Police Provincial Office (Model Provincial Transformation); Laoag City Police Station, Ilocos Norte Police Provincial Office (Model Urban Police Station); Pinili Municipal Police Station, Ilocos Norte (Model Rural Police Station); Regional Crime Laboratory Office 1 (Model National Operational Support Unit Transformation Program); Regional Health Service 1 (National Administrative Support Unit Transformation Program) ; 1st Regional Public Safety Management Battalion (Model Regional Maneuver Unit); and the Pangasinan Police Provincial Public Safety Maneuver Company (Model Provincial Maneuver Unit).

Special Awards were given to: Barangay 1, Dagupan City in Pangasinan (Model Barangay Peace-keeping Action Team (BPAT); Deputy Regional Director for Operations Pepito Domantay (Senior Police Commissioned Officer of the Year); Provincial Intelligence Branch Chief Romeo Caramat Jr, Pangasinan Police Provincial Office (Junior Police Commissioned Officer of the Year); Regional Special Operations Group Chief Julius Suriben (Staff Police Commissioned Officer of the Year).

PO3 Ruth Poserio of the Sta. Barbara Municipal Police Station, Pangasinan was also honored for her being chosen as one of the Ten Outstanding Policewomen of the Year nationwide.

Verzosa and Azares also gave plaques of appreciation to Laoag City Michael Farinas (Nominator of the Lead PNP Award, City Mayor); PRO1 Deputy Regional Director for Administration Manuel Cachero (Regional Screening Committee chairman); Reverend Conrado Lumahan, International Christian Mission coordinator (vice chairman); and to the steering committee members Dr. Nora Peñaflor (Junior Chamber International (JCI) Naguilian-Basi Chapter president); Dr. Josephine Flores (University of La Salette, Isabela coordinator); Gualberto Elias (The Star Northern Luzon publisher); and to Chief Inspector Rommell Javier, secretary of the Directorial Staff (Regional Screening Committee secretariat). (LCMY/Sunnex)

Local pnp marks 19th year

DISCLAIMER: Sun.Star website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessary reflect the views of the Sun.Star management and its affiliates. Sun.Star reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules: Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent and respectful. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!

FOREX: US$ 1.00 = PhP 44.132

Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas

Philippine Lotto Results

Gamesort iconCombinations
Megalotto 6/4505-34-23-30-28-44
Swertres Lotto 11AM3-4-5
Swertres Lotto 4PM3-5-1
Swertres Lotto 9PM0-1-6
More results

Today's front page

Sun.Star Pampanga's front page for June 21, 2014

Other front pages

Sun.Star Jobs