Phivolcs identifies 29 EV towns as quake risk areas

-A A +A

Wednesday, September 5, 2012

THE Philippine Volcanology and Seismology (Phivolcs) has identified 29 towns in Eastern Visayas as high risk to earthquakes with the presence of active Philippines fault zone and lineaments.

Myra Dolina, regional science research analyst of Philvolcs, said they have been recording movements in the fault lines but most were not felt by residents because of their low intensities.

The Central Leyte Fault, which forms part of the 1,200-kilometer fault zone, stretches in some areas of Mahaplag, Ormoc City, Kananga, Capoocan, Javier, MacArthur, Lapaz, Abuyog, Burauen, Leyte, and Albuera.


The crossing fault puts Sogod, Libagon, Saint Bernard, Liloan, and San Ricardo in the list of earthquake-prone areas.  

Movements of Southern Samar Lineament jolt the towns of Taft, San Julian, Sulat, Borongan City, Balangiga, and Lawaan in Eastern Samar; Marabut, Basey, Pinabacdao and Hinabangan, Samar.

The Northern Samar Lineament traverses the town of Allen, Victoria, and San Isidro. Philvocs is on the process of making hazard maps for Biliran close to the Philippine Fault Zone and some areas in Samar near the Central Samar Lineament.

“Movements of these fault zone and lineaments can be felt in nearby municipalities but the impact is more intense in these identified municipalities,” Dolina added.

The fault lines, considered by Philvolcs as active, are primarily caused by tectonic forces compressing the Philippines into what tectonic geophysicists call the “Philippine Mobile Belt.”

“It doesn’t mean that the entire identified municipality is in high risk. The map will point out if the area is in the town center or in mountains. Through the hazard map, the local government unit can identify highly vulnerable barangays,” Dolina said.

She said all areas close to the Pacific Ocean are also vulnerable to tremor and tsunami with the presence of 1,320 kilometers Philippine Trench offshore of the region. Movement of the said trench caused the 7.6 magnitude earthquake Friday night.

Phivolcs revealed that faults and liquefaction in Northern Samar province, central and southern part of Samar province, and in central portion of Leyte Island are all active. 

The fault zone in Biliran has recorded seismic movements on July 30 and in Ormoc City on July 27 with a magnitude of 2.1 and 2.5, respectively. The same fault line jolted on July 30 in Sogod, Southern Leyte with an intensity of 3.3.

The Phivolcs and other concerned government agencies have been disseminating these data to local government units (LGUs) since 2007. (Leyte Samar Daily Express)

Local news

DISCLAIMER: Sun.Star website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessary reflect the views of the Sun.Star management and its affiliates. Sun.Star reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules: Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent and respectful. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!
Sun.Star Jobs
  • Habemus Papam
  • Filipino Abroad
  • Technology
  • goodearth
  • Sun.Star Zup!
  • Pacman blog
  • Sunstar Multimedia
  • Sinulog
  • Festivals
  • Obituary
  • ePaper
  • tell it to sunstar
  • Philippine Polls
  • Pnoy
  • Calamity Report
  • SunStar Celebrity