Nacionalista sweeps ABC election in Calbayog

-A A +A

Tuesday, December 10, 2013

CALBAYOG CITY, Samar -- The Nacionalista Party (NP) won a landslide victory against rival Liberal Party (LP) in the Association of Barangay Captains (ABC) elections here on Monday.

Justiano Belleza won again as president against fellow NP Ariel Rosales, who ran under the LP-NP ticket coalition for the ABC election.

Barangay captains during ABC election
CALBAYOG. Barangay captains dropped their ballots to elect the new set of ABC officers on Monday, December 9, at the Calbayog City Convention Center. (Gerwin Babon)

Asked about the landslide victory, Belleza said although he believed he had a big chance of winning again, he was wary of the outcome. “I know there are barangay captains who can be off."

Other NP winners were Fernando Gaspan, vice-president; Marion Collado, auditor; and Marion Villamento, Onez Ruth, Lydia Naparan, Jessie Gianan, Nila Floro, Jerry Doinog, Maximo de la Cruz, and Raquel Basbas for Board of Directors (BOD).

Proclamation of winners immediately followed after the election led by Samar Governor Sharee Ann Tan (NP). Tan and brother Vice Governor Jimboy Tan were there to show their support to the Liga candidates and local NP supporters.

Samar governor and supporters
CALBAYOG. Samar Governor Sharee Ann Tan (sitting, holding an orange hand fan) and her supporters wait for the ABC election result outside the Calbayog City Convention Center on December 9. (Gerwin Babon)

When asked on Tuesday to comment on the outcome of the ABC election, Mayor Ronald Aquino (LP) said “we moved on.”

"There is no permanent in politics," he said.

Aquino explained that LP knew they were outnumbered from the start but said: “I'm happy [of the outcome] because our members delivered the exact vote… We have to give them a fair fight else they’ll think we conceded.”

The election was held in Calbayog City Convention Center. (Sunnex)

Local news

DISCLAIMER: Sun.Star website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessary reflect the views of the Sun.Star management and its affiliates. Sun.Star reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules: Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent and respectful. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!
2013 Bar results out

FOREX: US$ 1.00 = PhP 44.420

Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas

Philippine Lotto Results

Gamesort iconCombinations
Swertres Lotto 11AM8-9-8
Swertres Lotto 4PM4-5-2
Swertres Lotto 9PM6-0-7
EZ2 Lotto 9PM04-02

Sun.Star Jobs
  • Sinulog
  • ePaper
  • goodearth
  • Philippine Polls
  • Festivals
  • Sunstar Multimedia
  • Habemus Papam
  • SunStar Celebrity
  • Technology
  • Pnoy
  • Obituary
  • Sun.Star Zup!
  • Calamity Report
  • tell it to sunstar
  • Pacman blog
  • Filipino Abroad