THE Cebu City Marathon (CCM) makes the biggest change in the history of the event for next year’s edition, which marks the 10th year for the organizers, on Jan. 8 at the Cebu Business Park.

The race, organized by Cebu Executive Runners Club (CERC) and RunRio, will now cover three cities—Cebu, Mandaue and Lapu-Lapu, and the starting and finish area will be transferred from I.T Park to Cebu Business Park. It will be the first time for the event to cover three cities after holding it within Cebu City in the past nine editions.

“We wanted to offer something different, the runners are clamoring for change. I hope that this will get the runners excited,” one of the organizers, John Pages of CERC, told Sun.Star Cebu in a telephone interview.

Pages said that CERC started the running event--which is one of the activities in the annual Sinulog Festival--in 2008 when it was the Cebu Sinulog Half-Marathon before it was changed to CCM. Next year will be the 10th edition of the running event.

The run will still have the men’s and women’s 42-kilometer, 21K, 10K and 5K categories. The runners in the 42K and 21K will traverse Marcelo Fernan Bridge on their way to Lapu-Lapu City.

Pages revealed that there was a very famous race way back in the 90’s called the Tri-City Marathon which also covered the cities of Cebu, Mandaue and Lapu-Lapu. He said that the route is somewhat revival of that Tri-City Marathon.

“The first parts of the race we will bring the runners within Cebu City and let them see the lights on the streets of Cebu City before they go out to Mandaue and Lapu-Lapu,” said Pages.

All the runners will start at the Cebu Business Park. The 10K and 5K categories will be within Cebu City. The 21K and 42K runners, on the other hand, will pass Lahug, Gorordo Ave., Kamputhaw and will turn back heading to Mabolo all the way to Mandaue and Lapu-Lapu City before going back to the finish line.

Pages said that they will be allocating 5,000 slots for this year’s race. There will be 1,500 slots for the 42K and 1,500 for the 21K. The rest of the entries are for the short distances 10K and 5K. The finishers in the 21K and 42K will each receive a shirt and medal.

“We will still have the Sinulog theme and atmosphere all throughout the route,” said Pages.

The 42K starts at 3 a.m. and has a cut-off time of 7 hours. The 21K starts at 4 a.m. and will have a four-hour cutoff, while the 10K will have a two-hour cut-off. Runners in the 5K will have 90 minutes to finish their event.

Early bird registration starts today. Registration fee is at P1,800 for the 42K, P1,500 for the 21K, P900 for the 10K and P650 for the 5K.