Dumaguete City to host Unigames

THIS year’s Philippine University Games (Unigames), with 2,500 athletes, will be hosted by Dumaguete City on October 23 to 30 as a continuation to Buglasan Festival celebration in Negros Oriental.

Representatives from 53 colleges and universities from various parts of the country will compete in the 21st edition of the annual games.

Mayor Felipe Remollo said he expects the sports tourism and local livelihood will be given a boost with the number of visitors arriving in the city for the games.

The public is free to watch all the games in different playing venues, such as Mariano Perdices Coliseum for track and field, Aqua Center for swimming, SU Ballfield for football and archery, and Praxivilla Tennis Court for tennis.

The other sports events will be held outside the city.

The colorful spectacle of Negros Oriental’s unique Buglasan Festival of Festivals will culminate on October 23. It will also welcome the Unigames delegates with a big rave of "Kasikas sa Kalye" and fireworks competition.

Some highlights of the Buglasan finale include trade fair, underwater photo contest, and cleanest and greenest school awards, Negorense interactive sport, Silliman University Dance Troupe concert, and Negorense Got Talent Performs.

The organizers are expecting the participating schools to join the Buglasan revelry to give them a chance to discover the beauty of Dumaguete City.

The 53 participating schools joining the Unigames are: Ateneo De Davao University, Adamson University, Arellano University, Central Philippine University, Centro Escolar University, Colegio de la Purisima Concepcion, Colegio de Sta. Ana de Victorias, Cor Jesu College, De la Salle-Araneta University, Silliman University, Foundation University, Negros Oriental State University, De La Salle College of St. Benilde, De La Salle-Lipa Batangas, De La Salle University-Dasmarinas, De La Salle University Manila, Enderun Colleges Metro Manila, Far Eastern University, Father Saturnino Urios University, Hercor College-Roxas City, Holy Angel University-Pampanga, Holy Cross of Davao College, Ilo-ilo Doctors College, Jose Maria College Davao City, La Consolacion College Bacolod, Laguna Colleges and University Athletic Association, Naga College Foundation, National University-Manila, Philippine State College of Aeronautics, Riverside College-Bacolod City, Rizal Technological University-Mandaluyong City, San Beda College-Manila, Southwestern University-Cebu City, St. Theresa College of Tandag Surigao del Sur, STI West Negros University-Bacolod, Technical University of the Philippines-Manila, University of Bohol, University of Makati, University of Mindanao-Davao City, University of Mindanao-Tagum College, University of Negros Occidental-Recoletos Bacolod, University of Northern Philippines-Vigan City, University of Perpetual Help System-Las Pinas, University of San Agustin in Iloilo City, University of San Carlos-Cebu, University of San Jose Recoletos-Cebu City, University of Santo Tomas, University of St. La Salle–Bacolod City, University of the Immaculate Conception–Davao City, University of the Philippines Dilliman, University of the Visayas-Cebu, VMA Global College-Bacolod City and Xavier University-Ateneo de Cagayan. (PIA)
style="display:block; text-align:center;"


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!