Wednesday, October 27, 2021

Oro’s Calma dominates the Marawi City tennis leg

CAGAYAN de Oro’s Mary Aubrey Calma has truly come of age, threatening to be the region’s new princess in lawn tennis competition.

The vast-improved Calma, who reigned in the 6th Oro Juniors last August at the Nazareth Lawen Tennis Club in Cagayan de Oro, made another sensational finish.

This time, in the Marawi City leg of the 2016 Cebuana Lhuillier Age Group Tennis Tournament held on November 4 to 8 at the San Miguel Tennis Club, otherwise known as Nano Badelles Tennis Club.

In another double-whammy feat, Calma’s exploit in the singles events was made at the expense of fellow Corpus Christi students Janelle Carmela Llavore and Gennifer Lysandra Pagente who used to dominate the distaff side of the local age-group tourney.

Calma drubbed Pagente, 6-1, 6-3 to pocket the 16-under girls crown, then played with same intensity to crush Llavore, 6-0, 6-2 in the 18-under girls final.

“It’s now a departure from Aubrey’s mediocre self in the past. And it all started when she seriously trained individually with Cocoy Yap,” said Marlon “Pinggoy” Castro, the resident conditioning coach of the Philippine Tennis Academy-Cagayan de Oro Satellite headed by Carmela’s father, Jonelle Llavore.

“Aubrey’s rise to the top is very timely as we commemorate the 10th year anniversary of Cebuana Lhuillier Age Group Tennis in the Philippines with our theme “A decade of producing tennis champions,” said event organizer in ITF-licensed referee Mario Inquito Craiz, speaking on behalf of Philippine Tennis Association chair, Jean Henri Lhuillier, and the whole technical team of the Dunlop Sport-backed netfest.

Complete results of the Group 2 Marawi City leg that attracted 151 participants are the following:

Singles Event

10 & Under Unisex

Champion: Miguel Iglupas (Iligan City)41 54
Runner-up: Kurt Gervan Bandolis (Tubod, Lanao del Norte)

12 & Under Girls

Champion: Rica Labrador (Sindangan, Zamboanga del Norte)64 64
Runner-up: Casey Padilla (Cagayan de Oro)

12 & Under Boys

Champion: Brent Signmond Cortes (Tubod, Lanao del Norte)64 75
Runner-up: Nash Agustines (Oroquieta City)

14 & Under Girls

Champion: Sydney Ezra Enriquez (Salug, Zamboanga del Norte)36 62 13-11
Runner-up: Rovie Baulete (Iligan City)

14 & Under Boys

Champion: Nilo Ledama (Pagadian City)60 62
Runner-up: Stephen Zion Guia (Dipolog City)

16 & Under Girls

Champion: Aubrey Calma (Cagayan de Oro)61 63
Runner-up: Gennifer Lysandra Pagente (Cagayan de Oro)

16 & Under Boys

Champion: Marc Nicole Suson (Cebu City)64 57 10-8
Runner-up: Jose Maria Pague (Buug, Zamboanga Sibugay)

18 & Under Girls

Champion: Aubrey Calma (Cagayan de Oro)60 62
Runner-up: Janelle Llavore (Cagayan de Oro)

18 & Under Boys

Champion: Jose Maria Pague (Buug, Zamboanga Sibugay)61 61
Runner-up: Jonelle Christian Llavore (Cagayan de Oro)

Doubles Event

10 & Under Unisex Doubles

Champion: Kurt Gervan Bandolis / Al Rashid Lucman42 53
Runner-up: Christian Dave Sardual / Nino Tristan Alfeche

14 & Under Boys Doubles

Champion: Uzziel Pepito / Brent Cortes 10-8
Runner-up: Mark Tanquion / Aaron Geromo

18 & Under Girls Doubles

Champion: Nicole Gatchalian / Anname Mendoza10-8
Runner-up: Rovie Baulete / Joanna Erinne Gulle

18 & Under Boys Doubles

Champion: Allen Gerry Manlangit / Vince Geo Serino10-3
Runner-up: Marc Suson / Kenichiro Suzuki
style="display:block; text-align:center;"


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!