Monday July 23, 2018

Pescon, Abella win Baybay Marathon

RAFAEL Pescos and Lizane Abella of Spectrum Runners Club conquered the first edition of the Baybay City Marathon, winning the men’s and women’s 42-kilometer category at the Veterans Plaza in Baybay City, Leyte yesterday.

Pescos completed the marathon in 2 hours 38 minutes and 11 seconds, edging out Noel Tillor for the men’s title.

Tillor settled for second place with a time of 2:41:05, while Andy Toniacao was in distant third with 3:07:58.

In the women’ division, Cebu’s Abella continued to show top form as she nabbed the women’s 42K title, a week after placing third in the 40th Milo Marathon Finals in Iloilo City.

Abella, also from Spectrum Runners Club, clocked 3:27:44 to win the women’s division over Mary Grace Solarte and Jelma Monsanto who finished at 4:01:05 and 4:13:59.