DE LA SALLE University Lady Spikers bagged the women’s crown while Adamson University Falcons scored the men’s title as the 2015 National Intercollegiate Volleyball Championship-Pedro Mendoza Jr. Memorial Cup closed at the University of the Cordilleras gymnasium.

The Lady Spikers forced a five-set meltdown against the Adamson Lady Falcons, 23-25, 25-27, 25-19, 25-18, 15-13, while AdU’s men squad brushed off the challenging National College of Business and Arts, 25-23, 25-22, 25-23 Saturday afternoon.

DLSU returned with a prolific stunt after skipping the Intercol last year, leaning towards the heroics of the women’s MVP Mika Aereen Reyes in collapsing the Lady Falcons.

Reyes came up with 14 key points including three aces and two blocks to complete DLSU’s 6-0 record at the end of the five-day tournament which kicked off in the Summer Capital May 27-31.

Desiree Winea Cheng helped DLSU with 19 points including five aces and three blocks, as Kim Fajardo and Cyd Thealee Demecillo combined for 23 points at the close of the five tough sets.

Lady Falcon’s Mylene Paat led her team with 13 points, while Jessica Galanza and Mhay Jeannalyn Roque congregated 18 points.

In the men’s division, Adamson also proved their dominance sweeping victory with a 4-0 slate in the prelims before ousting Emilio Aguinaldo College in the quarter finals and ending the four-year reign of the National University in the semifinals.

Michael Sudaria led Adamson with 14 points, a performance which led him to take the men’s MVP award this year.

Jessica Galanza (Adamson) and Fauzi Ismail (NU) were named best attackers, Menchie Tubiera of Arellano University alongside Bryan Saraya (NU) were awarded as best servers, Paat and Bryan Baguna (NU) were best blockers, Fajardo and Lee Jumbo Nidua (NCBA) were best setters, Keith Lebumfacil (AdU) and Gefferd Escobido were named best liberos, Dawn Nicole Macandili (DLSU) and Jelex Jay Mendoza (AdU) were best receivers.

DSLU coach Ramil De Jesus and Adamson coach Domingo Custodio were named this year’s best coaches for the female and men accordingly.

NU settled for a third place finish after escaping DLSU, 18-25, 23-25, 25-22, 25-23, 15-10 for the men’s, while Arellano University salvaged top three toppling Rizal Technological University, 25-23, 25-22, 25-13.

A total of 23 teams, 14, men and 11 women, participated in the tournament organized by the Philippine Volleyball Federation.

Other participating schools include Bulucan State University, St. Dominic Savio College, De La Salle-Lipa, Lyceum of the Philippines University, University of the Philippines-Diliman, Holy Angels University.

Local squads include UC Jaguars and University of Baguio Cardinals.

Now on its 16th staging, the annual tournament which was also hosted by the Summer Capital back in 2013 is held in commemoration of PVF’s late president Pedro “Pete” Mendoza Jr.

The National Intercol is aimed to be a grassroots development program creating opportunities for students to showcase and enhance volleyball skills and abilities by engaging through friendly and competitive sports competition.