THE National Correspondents Club of Baguio (NCCB) and the Silahis ng Pasko sa Baguio 2016 (SNPB) executive committee announced Thursday the joint recognition and awards rites sponsored by the two will be reset to February 11. The original date for the prestigious event designed to honor the city’s most outstanding international athletes and sportsmen and the dedicated and generous event sponsors and hosts of the various religious, educational, civic, fraternal, cultural, tourism and sports activities of Silahis ng Pasko was scheduled on January 28. The postponement to a later date is to provide more convenience, comfort and time for program preparations, according to the committee. There is no change in the program venue. It will still be held at the Silungan Center of the City Social Welfare and Development (CSWDO) at upper Session Road. Individual awardees will be notified accordingly within the week.

Meanwhile, the partial list of top awardees in the NCCB Kafagway Sports Luminaries core will be led by ONE Lightweight World Champion Eduard “The Landslide” Folayang who was recently proclaimed as the “Fighter of the Year 2016” by the sports international ONE organization. The 32-year-old, Team Lakay superstar Baguio City resident dethroned Japanese legend Shinya Oaki via a 3-round technical knockout during their championship tussle held in Singapore late last year. NCCB Kafagway Sports will confer on the Bontoc warrior the prestigious Super Athlete of the Year ‘16” award. On the staff side, Wushu internationalist Divine Masadao Wally, the first Filipino ever to win two gold medals in the Wushu World Championships will receive the “Super Athlete of the Year ‘16” (women division). Wally, the 19-year old college student from the University of the Cordilleras won her first gold medal in 2015 and earned her second gold medal in the 2016 8th Sanda World Cup held in Xian, China. On the other hand, Erlinda Lavandia, a retired PNPO Chief inspector, considered as the most bemedaled senior athlete of the Philippines to date will be named as the “Senior Athlete of the Decade”. Linda was a consistent medalist during her Gintong Alay years, as a javelin thrower and later on as a discuss and shotput ace. The 65-year-old athlete is still on the athletics arena doing her forte sports event.

For the first time in the history of Kafagway Sports, two father and son tandems will be presented and recognized during the awards rites.

Chess Grand Master-elect Haridas Pascua and his father-coach Gilbert will receive the “Father and Son Chess Tandem Award ‘16” plum. GM Haridas last December ended his international chess exploits with a gold medal. He won the Jolimark International Open Championship held in Hong Kong last December. Last Year, the 21 year old University of Baguio college student was a medallist in several chess tournaments held abroad. It is of common knowledge and pride that businessman Carlos Anton and his teenage son are burning the care race tracks to top medal finish for the past several years. They have made us proud with distinction, honor and prestige. They will also receive the “Father and Son Car Racing Tandem ’16 Award.”

The other sports honourees are Kareel Meer Hongitan for archery; Reynold Domalsin, bodybuilding; Marcelo Bautista- ultra-marathon (M); SANDI Mechi Abatan – ultra marathon (W) and Jayson Baucan for wrestling.

City Mayor Mauricio G. Domogan will be cited as the Sports Patron of the Decade; Bishop Carlito Cenzon – Gold Tournament Promoter dor the Cause for the Decade while Mark Sangiao of Team Lakay will receive the International Sports Promoter of tghe Decade accolade. The other awardees will be known next week.

Meanwhile, the honourees in the Silahis ng Pasko 2016 include City Councilor Lilian Fariñas, the Philippine Military Academy, AFP; PHASES Learning Center, Baguio City National High School, retired Judge Emitt Mananta, president of the SLU SVD Housing Cooperative, the Baguio Market Coopeartive (BAMARCOM); US Navy retiree Angel Villarlarvo and family; Baguio Balikbayan couple Bonnie and Jossie Delinila of Camp John Hay, Baguio City Tourism Office and the General Services Office of the city.

Special tokens of recognition will also be presented to the event sponsors and program coordinators of the Baguio Lucky Foreign Visitors 2014 international tourism promotion offering of the city co-sponsored by the Department of Tourism – CAR, co –chairmen Romy Gonzales of Radio Station DZRH and Tom Picana, publisher-editor of Amianan Balita, Engr. And Mrs. Romeo Aquino, proprietor of Lefacy Crown Hotel; Rose Bowl. BENECO, and tri-media personalities Dobie de Guzman of ABS CBN TV Patrol Northern Luzon, Zaldy Comanda of Manila Bulletin and Balita, Edong Carta, president of the Cordillera Broadcasters Alliance and city PIO offuicer Aileen Refuerzo. The Baguio Midland Courier, Sun*Star Baguio and Baguio Weekly Chronicle will also receive citations. The final list of SNPB ’16 awardees will be our next week.

Meanwhile, the recognition and awards program on February 11 at the Silungan Center will highlight with a fellowship lunch party to be hosted by the NCCB and the CSWDO in partnership with our project supporters.

God Bless!