THERE was no stopping Jose Mari Pague of Zamboanga Peninsula from winning the Boys U18 singles title after beating second seed Vince “EJ” Tugade of Tacurong City, Cotabato 6-4, 6-3 in the Boys U18 Singles finals of the 11th Cebuana Lhuillier Age Group Tennis Championships held at the Citi Green Tennis Resort in Mambaling yesterday.

Pague displayed a steady game all throughout the match to win the title.

For winning the Under-18 crown, it spoiled Tugade’s chance of finishing with a twinkill in the competition.

Tugade, who was the third seed in the Boys Under-16 class weathered the tough game of Marc Nicole Suson in the opening set, 7-6, before breaking the Cebuano player, 6-1, in the second set.

Pague was again denied to win his second gold medal after he and Ramon Wilfred Bentillo lost to Feb Wendeyll Deja and Rusel Cero in the Boys Under-18 Doubles finals, 8-4.

Upcoming Cebuano talent Aaron Kevin Tabura, partnered with Gio John Manito to win the 10U Unisex doubles title after beating Brylen Matthew Sanchez and Dave Ezra Sepulveda 4-1, 4-0 in the finals.

The other winners include Ruper Ohrelle Tortal, who won the Boys Under-14 Singles title after beating Brent Sigmond Cortes in a thrilling three sets, 6-1, 3-6, 10-4 decision; Carlyn Bless Guarde, who bagged the Girls Under-18 Singles title following her straight sets, 7-5, 6-3, win over Elizabeth Abarquez; and Euri Tagal and Nash Agustines, who topped the Boys Under-14 Doubles after beating Brent Cortes and Ashton Villanueva, 8-4 in the Boys U14 doubles finals.

On the other hand, Ezra Enriquez and Mineth Bentillo proved too strong for Hilary Coderos and Corazon Lambona as they blanked the latter, 6-0, in the Girls Under-14 doubles finals.

Cebuana pair Shynne Villareal and Elizabeth Abarquez won the Girls Under-18 doubles title following an 8-4 win over Pherl Bless Coderos and Ghyllana Yu in the finals.

Chad Connor Cuizon won the 10-Under Unisex title after beating Bryzen Wynn Mathew Sanchez 4-0, 4-0; Nash Agustines won the Boys 12-Under following a thrilling 6-2, 7-5 decision over John Christopher Sonsona in finals.

Tiffany Claire Nocos bagged the Girls U14 title after winning over Corazon Lambonao 6-0, 6-3, in the Girls U12 finals, Sydney Ezra Enriquez copped the Girls U14 title after beating Minette April Bentilo, 6-3, 6-1; and Elizabeth Abarquez won the Girls U18 title following a 6-3, 6-3 mastery over Carlyn Bless Guarde.