TWO members of the New People's Army (NPA) surrendered to the military at Bayugan City, Agusan del Sur Monday, February 6, citing "frustration of leadership" and "fear of the incoming army offensive."

In a statement, Army's 4th Infantry Division (4ID) identified the former rebels as Jerry Petelo and Rany Ayawon, who surrendered to the 3rd Special Forces Battalion, and brought with them one M16, one carbine, one light anti-tank weapon, and two improvised explosive devices.

The 4ID said Petelo and Ayawon were members of NPA's North Eastern Mindanao Regional Party Committee operating in the areas of Agusan del Norte and Agusan del Sur.

The 4ID said the two rebels were frustrated after their leaders failed to give them their allowance, and accordingly, they are afraid of the "incoming army offensive," particularly the all-out war declaration of Defense Secretary Delfin Lorenzana.

"They revealed that a lot of their NPA companions in their unit share the same sentiment after President Duterte lifted the unilateral ceasefire earlier declared. They said that a lot of them have already left their unit for good or are planning to surrender," the statement noted.

The 4ID said the Petelo and Ayawon will be given benefits under the Comprehensive Local Integration Program of the government and incentives for the firearms that were returned.