Wednesday, September 29, 2021

8 NPA rebels yield in Davao

THE Philippine Army's 10th Infantry Division (ID) reported that a total of eight members of the New People's Army (NPA) have returned to the folds of the law since February 1, after the government lifted the ceasefire with the communist rebels.

Captain Rhyan Batchar, 10th ID spokesperson, identified the eight rebels only by their pseudonym: Joni, Mike, Ranil, Tenen, Jimboy, Francis, Robert and Rustom - all operating in Davao Region.

Batchar said Joni surrendered to Army's 67th Infantry Battalion (IB) following the clash between the troops and the rebels in Manay, Davao Oriental on February 1, while Mike, Ranil, Tenen, Jimboy and Francis yielded on February 7.

Robert and Rustom surrendered to the Army's 73rd IB in Davao Occidental on February 6, due to hardship and hunger while being in the communist movement, Batchar said.

Major General Rafael Valencia, 10th ID commander, has urged other NPA members to surrender and asked the community not to support the rebels.
style="display:block; text-align:center;"


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!