THE Baguio National School of Arts and Trades (BNSAT), which placed second in 2015, defeated Calinan National High School, 5-3, in Saturday's, February 11, championship match of the 11th Davao City Baseball Cup to clinch the title at the Lt. Col. Cipriano Villafuerte, Sr. Elementary School grounds.

BNSAT's Jerson Simogan was hailed most valuable player (MVP) in the secondary division. His teammates Jason Atawom, Salvador Bansalan, Geo Bernardino, Jimmy Camangyan Jr., Joel Camangyan Jr., Joey Camangyan, John Jericho Casinillo, John Marc Duyac, Elijah Guinita, Remar Mercadal, Mario Nisnisan Jr. and Saide Once joined forces to win the championship that evaded them in the past. Eric Gauran coached BNSAT.

Perennial champion Crossing Bayabas National High School, for its part, settled for third after whipping Philippine Nikkei Jin Kai International School (PNJKIS), 12-2.

Toril-based Bayabas Elementary School, meanwhile, routed Baguio Central Elementary School, 7-1, to defend its elementary division title in the two-day event jointly organized by the Datu Uchida Development Foundation, Incorporated, PNJKIS and Mindanao Kokusai Daigaku in cooperation with the Davao City Baseball Association.

MVP Jay Louie Sejalbo led the title-retention bid of Letecia Manito-coached BES that was also composed of Kenshien Lee C. Ardepolla, Rimarc Berdida, Edrian Casquejo, Eugene Elicano, AJ Boy Montefalcon, Divo Ocado, Juvel Panday, Marjon Pelicano, Joel Sumael, Juantio Uganap Jr. and Michael Utbo.

The third place went to San Roque Central Elementary School batters who survived a 3-2 victory over PNKJIS.

The champion team received the perpetual trophy.

All top four teams also claimed medals, cash prizes and baseball equipment in the meet sponsored by Tokyo Kichijoji Lions Club and backed by Department of Education Davao City Division Superintendent Maria Ines Asuncion.