THE Sportswriters Association of Cebu will hold its annual San Migue Brewery-SAC Sports Awards on March 7 at SM City at 2 p.m.

Now on its 35th year, SAC will honor the various achievers in Cebu sports for 2016, a year that saw Cebu sports etch a new record with Mary Joy Tabal competing in the Olympics, Donnie Nietes extending his unbeaten reign and June Mar Fajardo winning his third straight MVP award.

Nietes, who is now campaigning in the light flyweight division, will be the first athlete in years who will be elevated to the SMB-SAC Hall of Fame. He is also a former Athlete of the Year and a perennial major awardee in boxing.

“To put Donnie’s achievement in perspective, some of our members were not yet sportwriters when Donnie first won his title and some of his fellow awardees have yet to learn to walk,” said SAC president Mike T. Limpag. “This is our way of thanking him for all those years of putting Cebu sports in the limelight. Aside from being a champion, he is a humble human being, a perfect example for other athletes, not just boxers, to follow.”

Tabal, last year’s Athlete of the Year, will also be honored again for running after becoming the first Cebuana marathoner to qualify for the Olympics. Tabal did it despite being out of the national team for the most part of 2016 and thanks to her coach John Philip Duenas and the generosity of her sponsor Jonel Borromeo of Motor Ace Philippines.

Borromeo, also a triathlete, will receive the Presidential award.

“We were all elated when Joy finally made it to the Olympics in her second attempt and we all know that without Borromeo and Motor Ace, Joy’s Olympic dream will just be a dream so it is fitting that we also recognize Motor Ace for its unselfish role in this dream,” said Limpag.

The other major awardees this year are Samantha Limos (athletics), Rogelio Miguel Tremedal (archery), Johnreil Casimero (boxing), Marlon Tapales (boxing), Milan Melindo (boxing), Josephine Teria (bodybuilding), Jerish Velarde (chess), Weiwei Gao (golf), Lloyd Jefferson Go (golf), Niel Francis Palomares (gymnastics), Kiyomi Watanabe (judo), Rafael Vidal (karatedo), Khazart William Romoff, Rheyjey Ortueste (sepak takraw), Paul Jumamil (triathlon), Gretchel Soltones (volleyball) and Glen Lava (taekwondo).

“Just like in previous years, all major awardees are candidates for the Athlete of the Year and the winner will be announced during the event itself,” said Limpag.

Aside from the major awardees, SAC will also hand out citations to athletes who made their mark in 2016.

Among those who will get citations this year are World Eskrima Kali Arnis Federation, John Marvin Rafols, Rick Angelo Sotto, Mart Chan Torregasa, Seth Abram Pilapil, Khalin Alex Abella, Rogelio Miguel Tremedal, Lloyd Adlawan, Alex Sebastian Blanco, Tricia Merced Opon, Elloise Marie Canillo, Punta Princesa batted sports team, University of the Visayas Green Lancers, Sacred Heart School-Ateneo de Cebu Magis Eagles, Rey Suerte, Jed Colonia, Cebu City’s basketball team in Batang Pinoy, Joshua Flores, Jayvee Bahio, Joshua Sinclair, Paul Desiderio, Florence Jil Talas, Darlienne Ragasajo, Tracy Carl Dadang, Perlas Pilipinas, Allana Lim, Jack Tepora, Kenny Demecillo, Mark Magsayo, Neil John Tabanao, Jason Pagara, Jimmy Paypa, Jessie Espinas, Arthur Villanueva, Eduardo Gimenez Jr., Alphecca Gonzales, Chris Aldritz Pondoyo, Jun Duron, Alexandrea Gumilao, Joaquin Buyco, Trevor Lood, Joaquin Suarez, Pietre Dakay, Marcel Ivan Ouano, Jesse Semblante, Leo Maquiling, Valentino Calvo, Major Dean Ebarle, Lorenzo Genco, Julian Miranda, Jordan Jarvis, Kintaro Miyagi, Vincent Erik Lovitos, Raphael Clifford de Guzman, Lorenz Giuseppe Genco, Nicholas Christan Villacin, Lois Kaye Go, and Junia Gabasa.

Lianne Maning, Jisha Zhyra Azur, Justin Ayra Azur, Dino Singson Jr., Janine Narboada, Jeremy Nopre, Gerald Baclaan, Felix Calipusan Jr, Precious Avegail Belicario, DJ Mae Dente, Nicholas Avila, Joseph Casquejo, Aubrey Codilla, ER Khimlord Labura, Kim Andrei Makiling, Ken Caniga, Noel Tillor, Lady Dragons, Atty. Ingemar Macarine, Andrew Kim Remolino, Karen Mae Andaya, Johann Matthew Tubesa of SHS-Ateneo, Jawad Cup organizers, Henze Dominique Lucero, Mary Daniese Adolfo Saether, Jan Godfrey Seno, Team Cebu City boys and girls tennis teams, Zethley Mae Alferez, Alyssa Mae Bornia, Jana Pages, Katherine Yu, Moira Frances Erediano, Karen Andrea Manayon, Jorry Ycong, Isa Molde, Fernando Agad Jr, Evangelito Dale Ceniza, Jeofrey Frasco Jr. and Dino Singson will also receive citations.

The rest of the citation awardees are John Vincent Villa, Elwin Retanal, John Renee Mier, Ica Maximo, Dancesport Team Cebu City, Daniel dela Pisa, Kyla Sylverio, Kim Paller, Luis Drei Candia, Dartspeed Eslao, Raven Faith Alcoseba, Gudmoto B8, John Rex Tongco, Arthur Craig Pantino, Tabuelan 111 organizers, Rafael Trinidad, Team Cebu-Toyota Vios and Jette Calderon. Pooled Report