THE Department of Trade and Industry (DTI) will establish 17 new Negosyo Centers in Zamboanga Peninsula this year, a DTI official said.

The Negosyo Centers assist businessmen and aspiring entrepreneurs to have sustainable business.

DTI Regional Director Sitti Amina Jain said of the 17 Negosyo Centers, six will be opened in Zamboanga Sibugay, six in Zamboanga del Sur, four in Zamboanga del Norte, and one in Zamboanga City.

Jain said the Negosyo Centers that will be opened in Zamboanga Sibugay will be located in the municipalities of Alicia, Diplahan, Kabasalan, Naga, Olutanga, and, Siay.

In Zamboanga del Sur, the Negosyo Centers will be placed in the towns of Duminag, Tabina, Tukuran, Midsalip, Margosatubig, and Dumalinao.

For Zamboanga del Norte, the centers will be constructed in the towns of Sindangan, Sergio Osmeña, Polanco, and Katipunan.

The Negosyo Center for Zamboanga City will be established in the village of Vitali, the second to the last barangay towards the boundary with the province Zamboanga Sibugay.

At present, there are 20 Negosyo Centers in the region. These are located in the following areas: three in Zamboanga City, one in Isabela City, five in Zamboanga Sibugay, five in Zamboanga del Norte, and six in Zamboanga del Sur.

Jain said the objective of the DTI is to open Negosyo Centers in all areas in the Zamboanga Peninsula.

She said the centers will facilitate easier access to small entrepreneurs when it comes to product development, marketing, financial literacy, production efficiency, and technology transfer.

She added the existing Negosyo Centers have assisted around 13,000 micro, small, and medium, enterprises in 2016.

Jain said they are looking forward that 10,000 new businesses will register this year in the region. (SunStar Philippines)