Mindanao's committed power projects now at 1,870MW

MINDANAO has a total of 1,870.70 megawatts (MW) of committed power projects, based on the report of the Department of Energy as of the third quarter of 2015.

Power projects are mainly coal-fired power plants with five projects amounting to 1,745 MW, this is followed by hydropower plants with four projects amounting to 64 MW, oil-fired power plants with three projects amounting to 41.10 MW, and biomass power plants with three projects amounting to 20.60 MW.

Going online by the end of March this year is the 300 MW Coal-fired Therma South Energy Project of the Therma South Inc. (TSI.) in Davao City and Sta. Cruz, Davao del Sur.

Other coal fired projects in Mindanao are the 200 MW Southern Mindanao Coal Fired Power Station of the Srangani Enerby Corporation in Maasim, Sarangani; 405 MW Misamis Cisculating Fluidized Bed (CFB) coal-fired power plant project of the FDC Utilities Inc. in Villanueva, Misamis Oriental; 300 MW SMC Davao Power Plant Project Phase 1 of San Miguel Consolidated Power Corporation in Malita Davao del Sur; and the 540 MW Clean Coal fired power plant of the GN Power Kauswagan Ltd. Co. in Kauswagan, Lanao del Norte.

Hydropwer power projects in Mindanao include the 30 MW Puyo Hydroelectric Power Project of the First Gen Mindanao Hydropower Corp. in Jabonga, Agusan del Norte; 25 MW Lake Mainit hydropower project of the Agusan Power Corporation in Jabonga, Agusan del Norte; 9 MW Limbatangon Hydroelectric Power Project of the Turbines Resource and Development Corp. in Cagayan de Oro City; and the 5 MW Asiga hydropower project of the Asiga Green Energy Corp. in Santiago, Agusan del Norte.

Oil-fired power plant projects are the 20.9 MW bunker fired power plant of the Peak Power Soccsargen Inc. in General Santos City; 15 MW diesel power plant of the Mapalad Energy Generating Corporation in Iligan City; and the 5.2 MW bunker-fired power plant of the Peak Power San Francisco in San Francisco, Agusan del Sur.

Biomass power plant projects are the 15 MW biomass power plant project of the Lamsan Power Corporation in Sultan Kudarat, Maguindanao; 10 MW Multi Feedstock Power Generating Facility of the Malaybalay Bioenergy Corporation in Maramag, Bukidnon; and the 3 MW Biomass

Cogeneration Facility of the Philippine Trade Center, Inc. in Sultan Kudarat, Maguindanao.(RJL)

style="display:block; text-align:center;"


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!