THE 39th edition of the Milo Marathon Baguio Qualifying Leg is set to hit the uphill and downhill roads of the city anew on July 5.

The country's longest foot race will once again raise its challenge among thousands of runners from this side of the country at the Melvin Jones Grandstand in Burnham Park early next month.

The internationally recognized marathon expects to draw at least 2,000 foot race enthusiasts from the Summer Capital, Benguet, including neighboring provinces in bid to qualify for the national finals this coming December.

The Baguio Leg will be the second among 17 races scheduled following the stop in Dagupan City on June 28.

The marathon will hold four different race distances, which will include 3-kilometer, 5-kilometer, 10-kilometer, and 21-kilometer that will cost P80 (for students 3K and 5K), P110, P530, and P630 accordingly.

Registration fees are inclusive of singlets, finisher’s certificate, and a race bib with an electronic timing device.

All 21K runners are still required to have their original copy of medical certificates indicating that they are fit to run for the event.

The 21K category will be the qualifying distance for the national finals which is 42K which will be held in Angeles City on December 6, qualifiers will have all their expenses paid if they will qualify through a certain time.

Prizes will include cash, trophies or medals, for top 10 finishers in each category, also 21K competitors will receive a finisher’s medal plus a loot bags.

Part of the registration fee will continue to support Milo Marathon’s “Help Give a Pair of Shoe” program, where 100 pair of rubber shoes will be given free to chosen schools in the region.

Now on its 38th year, Milo Marathon is accredited by the association of International Marathon and Distance Race (AIMS), and the race route certified by the International Association of Athletic Federation (IAAFS), and organized by Run Rio Com in Partnership with the Philippine Olympic Committee-Philippine Sports Committee, and Department of Education.

Other race leg destinations and schedules this year include Tarlac (July12), Balanga (July 19), Metro Manila (July 26), Calapan (August 2), Lipa (August 9), Naga (August 16), Lucena (August 30), Iloilo (September 20), Bacolod (September 27), Tagbilaran (October 4), Cebu (October 11), Genereal Santos (October 18), Davao (November 8), Butuan (November 15), Cagayan de Oro (November 22).