Monday, December 17, 2018

3rd Mabalacat City paralympics promotes competitive spirit

CLARK FREEPORT – Promoting a competitive spirit among persons with disabilities (PWDs), the primary people’s organization for the disabled in Mabalacat City has conducted Paralympic Games from March 19 to 21 held at the Parade Grounds here.

Now on its third year, some 100 PWDs from Mabalacat City with learning, orthopedic, visual and hearing impairment participated in the said sports event.

The Paralympics was co-organized by the Persons with Disability Affairs Office (PDAO) and Mabalacat City Federation of Persons with Disability (MFPWD).

PDAO Head Michael S. Miranda expressed his gratitude to the Mabalacat City government and PDAO officers and members for a “successful special Olympics for PWDs.” He also thanked Clark Development Corporation over the support of the state-run firm to the venue and conveyance of the PWDs.

“The event was very successful, this year more PWDs participated in the Paralympics. PWDs participated in sports with eagerness at the same time they have a competitive spirit in playing,” said Miranda who has an orthopedic disability and uses crutches.

Miranda also encouraged PWDs in Mabalacat City to participate in the next Paralympics.

“We encourage PWDs from Mabalacat to join our next Paralympic games because we also have to engage in sports development because as PWDs, we have to be physically fit,” he added.

According to Miranda, the Mabalacat City Sports coordinating office introduced Petanque to the said Paralympics. Petanque is a popular game in Provence, France, in which metal bowls are thrown to land, as much as possible near to the targeted ball.

During the awarding ceremonies, Mayor Crisostomo Garbo expressed support to the activities of the PWDs.

Mabalacat City Paralympic athletes-winners in long jump category were Angelica Gail Bosquit and Magellan Castro. Shot put winners were Emerito Pare and Angelito Barro.

Running events winners include: Emil Flores, Sanrico Gomez and James Andia (100 meters); Sanrico Gomez (200 meters) and James Andia and Sanrico Gomez (400 meters).

Javelin throw winners were Angelito Barro, Nelson Lavarias, James Andia, Ermelito Pare, Alvin Jade Mercado, Cezar Mendiola, Eliza Baluyut, Angelica Gail Bosquit, Jamela Tolentino, Marilyn Mangilit and Emelody Suyat.

For board games, winners in Dama were Emilio Ocampo, Marilou David; Eduardo Dungca and Eduardo Fausto. Excelling in chess were Dennis Tambalque; Emil Flores and Basilio Bandiwan.

Winners in Petanque include (first placer) Esteban Buan, Allan Gomez and Emerlinda Gonzales, (second placers) Richard Pomareno, Eliza Cañete and Liza Baluyut and (third placers) Marilou David, James Andia and Angelito Barro II.


SunStar website welcomes friendly debate, but comments posted on this site do not necessarily reflect the views of the SunStar management and its affiliates. SunStar reserves the right to delete, reproduce or modify comments posted here without notice. Posts that are inappropriate will automatically be deleted.

Forum rules:

Do not use obscenity. Some words have been banned. Stick to the topic. Do not veer away from the discussion. Be coherent. Do not shout or use CAPITAL LETTERS!